Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ministry and Co-Conspirators: Cover Up

Many of us are probably sick of all the 'covers' albums that have been released over the last few years-so many of them are completely forgettable, but occasionally you get one that warrants a few spins and is actually enjoyable to listen to. As Allen Jourgensen brings the veteran band Ministry to an end this year, their swan song is Cover Up, a collection of classic rock songs done up Ministry style, well, that is Ministry and Co-Conspirators, which are a string of guest stars that give this release a big time feel. Fear Factory's Burton C. Bell lends his vocal support to a rousing rendition of The Rolling Stones classic "Under My Thumb", and Josh Bradford (Revolting Cocks) screams up a storm on "Bang A Gong" and a wild industrial rave up of Golden Earring's "Radar Love", which also has a screaming guitar solo courtesy of Sin Quirin. Prong's Tommy Victor does a fantastic job on a speed metal version of Deep Purple's "Space Truckin' ", easily hitting all the required Ian Gillan-typed screams and laying down plenty of scorching guitar licks alongside Jourgensen's tasty Hammond B3. Industrial meets bruising speed metal on a crazed rendition of "Black Betty", while Victor again shows up on a modern take of Mountain's "Mississippi Queen". Mainman Jourgensen gets down and dirty on ZZ Top's "Just Got Paid" turning this bluesy heavy rock classic into a scorching thrash/death metal barnburner. The same can be said for "Roadhouse Blues", which sees Ministry having an almost Motorhead type intensity that takes this song to places The Doors probably never intended it to go. Black Sabbath's "Supernaut", covered by 1000 Homo DJ's (side project featuring Ministry/NIN members), is a raucous industrial hodgepodge of demented sounds and noises, Bob Dylan's "Lay Lady Lay" as far away from folk as you can get, and "What a Wonderful World" a gothic & creepy take on a timeless classic.

If nothing else, you have to give Jourgensen & Co. credit here for giving these songs their own spin, and not just churn out identical renditions of their favorite songs, which quite frankly we hear all too often. If the boys in Ministry wanted to go out on a fun note, this party was a good choice.

Track Listing
1. Under My Thumb 3:57
2. Bang A Gong 4:48
3. Radar Love 5:21
4. Space Truckin' 3:51
5. Black Betty 3:29
6. Mississippi Queen 3:14
7. Just Got Paid 3:13
8. Roadhouse Blues 4:27
9. Supernaut 7:07
10. Lay Lady Lay 5:43
11. What A Wonderful World 7:05

Added: March 28th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: 13th Planet Records
Hits: 2184
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by