Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Azaghal: Omega

Finland's not always talked about as the black metal capital of the world, especially with Norway and Sweden generally regarded as the places to go to if you want a crash course in the genre. However, Finnish band Azaghal have slowly been making a name for themselves on the scene over the past decade, releasing a host of full-length and split CD's to positive acclaim, leading up to their signing to Moribund Records for their latest release Omega. If you like brutal, nihilistic, and blasphemous black metal along the lines of Gorgoroth, Dark Funeral, Marduk, and Mayhem, then you've come to the right place. This is truly devastating stuff, each track on Omega brimming with power and conviction, fueled by raging guitar riffs, pulverizing blast beats, and gurgling black metal vocals. While there are occasional synths to add some atmosphere, for the most part things move along at Mach 10 speeds, tracks like "Kuolonkaarme" and "Pirun Verta" as venemous as anything released by the other bands mentioned above. Many of the tremelo picked riffs have that epic, almost symphonic characteristic that Dark Funeral consistently achieve ("Vihani Raivoavina Valtamerina" is a good example) and lead singer Varjoherra every now and then will remind you of Abbath from Immortal with his demented yet commanding shriek. Above all, it's Azaghal's flair for the dramatic on a piece like "Kuolemankulti" that sets them apart from many of the other underground black metal acts on the scene. Alternating between furious fast paced riffs and slower, almost death metal crunch, the addition of melody, technical drum work, and effective vocals make for a very epic and powerful statement.

Brutal, haunting, melodic, and furious, all words that help describe the listening experience you will get from Azaghal's latest Omega. It's certainly one of the best black metal releases that have come out so far here in early 2008.

Track Listing

  1. Taman Maailman Prinssi
  2. Pirun Verta
  3. Quetzalcoati
  4. Kuolonkaarme
  5. Vihani Raivoavina Valtamerina
  6. Maailman Viimeinen Yo
  7. Kuolemankulti
  8. Tuhkaan Kirjoitettu
  9. Kaikkinakevan Silman Alla

Added: March 2nd 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2807
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by