Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

15 Degrees Below Zero: New Travel

Three guys playing around with their laptops, samplers, keyboards, guitars, and various effects-that's what you get on 15 Degrees Below Zero's latest release New Travel. 11 tracks of electronic, space age noises and soundscapes, courtesy of Daniel Blomquist, Michael Addison Mersereau, and Mark Wilson. When the band takes the approach of Zeit era Tangerine Dream and mixes it with guitar strums straight out of a 1950's TV Western, like they do on "Westward", things have a way of really looking bright. However, too much of New Travel centers on dark, brooding, and ominous soundscapes, which is OK for a few tracks but starts to wear thin once you get mid-way through the CD. Give the guys credit though, they've certainly captured a mood here, their various whooshes, blips, and ondulations more than sufficient to occasionally send some shivers up and down your spine. Electronic/experimental fans should eat this up, but everyone else might want to proceed with caution.

Track Listing
1. Landscape on Film
2. Westward
3. Untitled Tube
4. Catholic Hallway
5. Sunday Drive
6. The Peculiar Apparatus
7. Circumference
8. Transition
9. December December
10. The Fifth
11. New Travel

Added: February 25th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: EdgeTone Records
Hits: 3853
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by