Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soil: Throttle Junkies (re-issue)

Chicago based Metal band, Soil, have re-released their 1998 indie released CD, Throttle Junkies (Crash Music). The original pressing was limited to only a couple of thousand, so this is the 1st time that this release is available to the masses. This CD has the entire original 5 member lineup that featured now former members, singer Ryan McCombs and guitarist Shaun Glass. The 17 track CD features 4 bonus tracks not on the original release.

Throttle Junkies shows early glimpses of the promise of what was to come from Soil. Better than most debut indie releases, but also not quite hitting their stride as shown on their first major release, Scars, Soil does offer a little on this early release. The groove and grind of what is in most Soil tracks these days is absent on this CD, but as mentioned, this is more of a developmental CD than one that could have been released to the masses back in '98. Singer Ryan McCombs has yet to find his unique vocal style and is a bit typical by Metal standards and the overall songwriting is a bit bland.

Fans of the heavier, groove laden Soil (like myself) might find this CD a far cry different than that of the modern era Soil. Everything that makes Soil Soil is not all together yet in this early release. Also included on this release is the now way over done 1970's Ram Jam classic, "Black Betty". Their version is fairly well done, but also just ok. If you're a Soil die hard, pick this up otherwise you might be a little disappointed. As with a lot of bands independent released CD's, this finds Soil cutting their teeth and not yet up to true form.

This was a cool idea to re-release this originally limited edition CD and a cool look back to where the band started, but mainly for the true die hard.

Track Listing

  1. Everything
  2. Road To Ruin
  3. Damning Eden
  4. F-Hole
  5. Man I Am
  6. Hello Again
  7. Butterfly
  8. Growing Ways
  9. Stand To Fall
  10. Concrete Slave
  11. She
  12. Crucified
  13. Shinning Man
  14. Damning Eden (Acoustic) Bonus Track*
  15. Black Betty (Bonus Track) *
  16. Triple 6's (Bonus Track)*
  17. 2 Cent Friend (Bonus Track)*

Added: February 10th 2008
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Soil Website
Hits: 2374
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by