Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Xasthur: A Gate Through Bloodstained Mirrors (remaster)

Originally released in 2001, and yet again in 2004 in a slightly different format, Xasthur's A Gate Through Bloodstained Mirrors was Malefic's first stab at turning the US black metal machine into a one-man operation. It worked, and he's been at it ever since, churning out one bleak, desolate, black metal release after another. Much of what you get here is raw, underground sounding stuff, with barren production qualities that seem to vary from song to song. Much like early Burzum (there's even a cover song of "Black Spell of Destruction" here), this is mostly waves of sound, at times frantic and bludgeoning with raging guitar riffs and pulverizing blast beats, and occasionally atmospheric and quite creepy featuring keyboards and strummed guitar chords. For the most part this release is instrumental, save for certain songs where the anguished and tortured screams of Malefic come into play. Highlights include the spooky 12-minute epic "Suicide in Dark Serenity", the crushing "Cursed Be the Memory of Light", and the two part tug of war between majesty and savage brutality that is "Storms of Red Revenge Part 2 & 1".

The official release will also contain a bonus 2nd CD of previously unreleased material from the same era, titled A Darkened Winter Promo '01 + 1, making this set a must purchase for Xasthur fans. For the uninitiated, A Gate Through Bloodstained Mirrors might be too raw and unpolished, especially if you are used to some of the more known black metal acts such as Dimmu Borgir, Emperor, and Immortal, but for those into the underground black metal scene, especially here in the US, this will be a welcome treat.

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Moon Shrouded In Misery (Part 1)
  3. Suicide In Dark Serenity
  4. Dwelling Beneath The Woods
  5. Cursed Be The Memory Of Light
  6. Possession
  7. Spell Within the Winds
  8. Storms of Red Revenge Part 2
  9. Storms of Red Revenge Part 1
  10. Eternal Empire Of Majesty Death (Mutiilation Cover)
  11. A Gate Through Bloodstained Mirrors
  12. Kingdom Of Burning Crucifixions
  13. Moon Shrouded In Misery (Part 2)
  14. Black Spell Of Destruction(Burzum Cover)
  15. Lost Behind Bloodstained Mirrors (Outro)

Added: February 6th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Hydra Head Records
Hits: 3197
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by