Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Decapitated: Winds of Creation

It's pretty sad that the tragic death of Decapitated drummer Vitek recently in a crash just happens to coincide with the re-release of Winds of Creation, the 2000 release from the band that drew together some of their earlier material plus a cover of Slayer's "Madatory Suicide". In a fitting tribute to this monster drummer, who left us way too soon while still in his early 20's, Earache gives us a bonus DVD here from a concert taped in the UK back in 2004, making this album well worth purchasing again for those who already have it. As far as the CD goes, despite the band being practically teenagers when these songs were recorded, their brand of brutal, technical death metal is jaw-droppingly ferocious, all the more so when you realize just how young they were at the time. Tunes like "The First Damned", "Winds of Creation", "The Eye of Horus", and "Nine Steps" are filled with complex metal riffs, Vitek's insane drum work, and the deathly growls/grunts of original vocalist Sauron. As brutal as Vogg's guitar work is here, check out the blinding drum blasts from the young Vitek, especially on "Way to Salvation" and "Human's Dust", for some truly mesmerizing and powerful stick work. If that's not enough, flip on the DVD and watch these young lads in action just a few short years later in a club in Nottingham, as they pummel the audience with a 10 song set featuring songs from their then new release The Negation. There's one hilarious moment early on in the set when a fan gets thrown onto the stage, only to get grabbed and literally dragged across the stage by security in what seems to have taken an eternity to get from one end to the other, captured on video for all the world to see!

Winds of Creation, especially this brand new reissue with bonus live DVD, is the perfect way to celebrate the life of Vitek, one of the most talented drummers to come out of the death metal scene in some time. If you are new to Decapitated, then this is a good introduction to this Polish juggernaut, especially if you are already familar with acts like Suffociation, Behemoth, Vader, Yattering, Nile, and Immolation.

We miss you Vitek-hope you are up there jamming with all the greats!

Track Listing
1. Winds Of Creation
2. Blessed
3. The First Damned
4. Way To Salvation
5. The Bye Of Horus
6. Human's Dust
7. Nine Steps
8. Dance Macabre
9. Mandatory Suicide
DVD-Live at Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK, December 20th, 2004
1) The Fury
2) Three Dimension
3) Lying and Weak
4) Winds of Creation
5) Nihility (Anti-Human Manifesto)
6) The Negation
7) Perfect Dehumanisation (The Answer)
8) Sensual Sickness
9) Sphere of Madness
10) Mother War

Added: February 5th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Decapitated Website
Hits: 4714
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by