Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nightmare: Genetic Disorder

Don't let the cover art fool you (which is amazing by the way)-the latest release from Nightmare, a band who have been around in one form or another since the late 70's, is full-throttle power metal, steeped in the influence of the NWOBHM era. The fact that these guys now find themselves on Regain Records, a home to many a black metal act, also makes this all the more intriguing. On Genetic Disorder, the band is firing on all cylinders, delivering a dozen crushing songs littered with manic drum work, twin guitar leads, furious riffage, and the strong vocals of Joe Amore. The album was recorded at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden with producers Fredrik Nordstrom and Henrik Udd (who have worked with bands like In Flames, Hammerfall, Arch Enemy, Dimmu Borgir, and many others), so you can expect some high quality work here. The songs range from speedy crunchers like "Battleground For Suicide" to more mid-tempo & heavy fare like "Queen Of Love & Pain", always though melody is the key, complemented by tasty and effective guitar work and the steady vocal attack from Amore. This guy is the real deal, whether he is hitting the high pitched histrionic notes or keeping himself at a lower, huskier register. Fans of Judas Priest, Saxon, Iced Earth, Masterplan, and Firewind, will love tracks like "Leader Of The Masquerade", "The Dominion Gate (Part II)","The Winds Of Sin", and "Dawn Of Darkness", all massive sounding numbers with loads of heavy riffs, harmony leads, and the ever soaring pipes of Amore.

Though they've been around for what seems like forever, the time might be right for this French outfit to really catch on here with Genetic Disorder. Fans of US & European power metal should drool all over this solid platter of intense and powerful songs. Let's hope Regain can get them over the US for some live shows so we can hear these kick ass songs in person.

Track Listing
1. Nothing Left Behind (5:15)
2. Battleground For Suicide (4:16)
3. Queen Of Love & Pain (3:46)
4. Conspiracy (4:09)
5. Leader Of The Masquerade (4:22)
6. Final Procession (5:01)
7. The Dominion Gate (Part II) (6:21)
8. The Winds Of Sin (4:28)
9. Forsaken Child (4:33)
10. A Thrill Of Death (4:58)
11. Wicked White Demon (3:41)
12. Dawn Of Darkness (6:08)

Added: February 3rd 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Nightmare Website
Hits: 3846
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by