Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Devian: Ninewinged Serpent

Ever wonder what happened to former Marduk members Legion and Emil? Well, wonder no more, as they've formed this new band Devian, a scorching black metal/old school thrash ensemble that also features guitarists Joinus & Tomas Nilsson, and bassist Roberth Larlsson. Produced by Rickard Kottelin and mixed by Fredrik Nordstrom, Ninewinged Serpent is the result of a years worth of work from start to finish, a blistering release that will leave fans of Legion's extreme vocal style speechless. While certain references to Marduk can be heard, this is no non-stop blast beat/scorching black metal only release. On the contrary, while at its core, Ninewinged Serpent does have many black metal elements, for the most part the band has embraced classic thrash influences (Exodus, Metallica, Megadeth) and vintage metal elements borrowed from bands such as Iron Maiden and Judas Priest. It makes for a highly enjoyable and ass-kicking juggernaut of a metal album, and sure to be one of 2008's hottest debuts.

The lethal snarl of Legion leads the way through tracks like "Dressed In Blood" and "Heresy", two examples of extreme metal ferocity, yet both highly melodic. "Heresy" sees drummer Emil really kicking it up into overdrive, taking this tune into Marduk-like territory with just the slightest feel of classic Immortal as well. On "Suffer the Fools" we finally start to hear the twin harmonies from both Joinus and Tomas, and the two really add that extra special touch throughout the rest of the CD, laying down plenty of massive, bone crunching riffs and fleet fingered solos & harmonies. Fans of Nevermore will love the moody epic "Gemini Is the Snake", a real dark crusher of a track, and the pummeling thrash of "Instigator" is raging metal at its bloody best, complete with mesmerizing speed riffs and blinding blast beats from Emil. If you want anthems, look no further than "Remnant Song" or the catchy black metal thumper that is the manic title track.

There's really no weak tracks or filler here, just 12 extremely solid and memorable thrash/black metal numbers that show a band fully confident and ready to take over the world. Add in some fantastically morbid cover art from Seth (who has worked with Paradise Lost, Old Man's Child, and Soilwork, among others) and you have one of 2008's early extreme metal gems.

Track Listing
01. Serenade For the Fallen
02. Dressed In Blood
03. Heresy
04. Scarred
05. Suffer the Fools
06. Fatalist
07. Gemini Is the Snake
08. Instigator
09. Remnant Song
10. Ninewinged Serpent
11. Burning Daylight
12. Jackal

Added: January 29th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Devian Website
Hits: 3235
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by