Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tierra Santa: 1997-2007

What is it about Spanish heavy metal? Although I have no concrete proof, Spanish-singing bands – Mägo de Oz and Red Wine come to mind immediately – seem to pack more punch with English-speaking listeners than, say, bands that sing in French or Russian. Of course, the structure of the language has something to do with that; Spanish words just sound punchier when fused with power chords and arena-ready choruses.

One of the best in the biz is Tierra Santa, which celebrates its first decade with this two-CD set. (A bonus DVD, not available for review, includes videos and live footage.) What makes Tierra Santa muy interesante is the Spaniards' ability to channel American, British and German hard-rock and progressive-metal tendencies. If it weren't for the language barrier, these guys could be Iron Maiden and Dream Theater (disc one) or the Scorpions and even Bon Jovi (disc two). Instead, they are one of Spain's finest metal exports.

Track Listing
Disc One:
1) Séptima Estrella
3) La Sombra de La Bestia
4) Alas de Fuego
5) Tierras de Leyenda
6) El Azote de Dios
7) Caballo de Troya
8) Apocalipsis
9) El Canto de Las Sirenas
10) David y el Gigante
11) Tierra Santa
12) Nací Siendo Libre
13) Mejor Morir en Pie
14) El Amor de Mi Vida
15) Dos Vidas
16) La Armada Invencible
17) Otelo
18) Indomable

Disc Two:
1) Pegaso
2) La Canción del Pirata, Pt. 1
3) La Canción del Pirata, Pt. 2
4) Nerón
5) Una Juventud Perdida
6) Sangre de Reyes
7) Medieval
8) El Corazón del Guerrero
9) El Bastón del Diablo
10) Un Grito en el Aire
11) Rumbo a Las Estrellas
12) Kamikaze
13) Hoy Vivo por Ti
14) Hamlet
15) Volver al Edén (Bonus Track)
16) Que Nunca Acabe Esta Noche (Bonus Track)
17) Tú Vas al Norte y Yo al Sur (Bonus Track)

Added: January 23rd 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Locomotive Records
Hits: 2340
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by