Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eon: Exile

This 4 song EP from Norway's Eon is an intriguing mix of thrash and melodic death metal, showing a band that has listened to most of the modern metal sub-genres and added their own spark to an otherwise crowded playing field. That it itself is a good thing, as Eon mix modern European extreme metal influences with a brooding Alice In Chains & Nevermore clash. Might sound like a strange mix, but Eon pull it off, as their sound really strikes a chord here on these four tracks. Lead guitarist and main songwriter Paul Olsen is also a current member of Trail of Tears, so he adds a little star power to this powerful ensemble. For the most part these four tracks are steeped in melodic death metal as well as progressive metal, as the guitar and drum parts employ arrangements that would not be foreign on a Meshuggah or Dream Theater release, At 16 minutes this is just a teaser for what we can expect from this four piece, but if you like crunchy guitar riffs, strong vocals, and catchy songwriting, then this demo from Eon surely will fit the bill. Hopefully we can see something more substantial from them in the near future.

Track Listing
1) Exile
2) Genesis
3) Flashback
4) Fatal Creation

Added: January 22nd 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2221
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by