Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Human Abstract, The: Nocturne

The Human Abstract are a US progressive metal band whose 2006 debut Nocturne is one of those releases that probably fell under the radar for most, and that's a shame because this CD shows plenty of promise and talent from this young band. Taking their cue from bands like Between the Buried and Me, Dillinger Escape Plan, and Sikth, The Human Abstract also show that they've listened to their fair share of Dream Theater and Symphony X as well. With the hardcore influence you can also hear tons of technical prog elements in their music, as intricate guitar riffs and blazing solos abound on these 12 tracks, the bass and drum work also equally impressive, adding plenty of jazz-fusion intensity to these catchy yet technical metal tracks. Singer Nathan Ellis juggles back and forth between clean melodic vocals and a combination growl/scream, really making it count on the choruses, which happen to be quite memorable and hook laden. The band's real strongpoint though is all the instrumental madness that is going on-absolutely ripping guitar work permeates "Crossing the Rubicon" (sounding like a cross between John Petrucci, Michael Romeo, and Yngwie Malmsteen) while nimble rhythmic patterns give the song a slight proggy-fusiony vibe. It's that mix of neo-classical, prog, and jazz-fusion that gives Nocturne its real edge and uniqueness, showing the world that The Human Abstract are no mere metal-core band. The guitar talents of both A.J Minette and Dean Herrera are to be commended-these guys can shred with the best of them, and they give a stellar performance here. Not to be outdone are the rhythm duo of drummer Brett Powell and bassist Kenny Arehart, two extremely capable players who are also allowed plenty of room to shine on the CD. Other standout tracks here are the bombastic & catchy "Movement From Discord", the manic, extreme neo-classical strains of "Channel Detritus", the gorgeous title track, the epic & progressive "Vela, Together We Await The Storm", and the technical butality of "Echelons To Molotovs".

Nocturne proves that extreme technical metal can also be accessible and melodic. Let's hope that The Human Abstract are not too far from getting another release out, as there's no reason that this band can't make some serious waves in the metal scene with this kind of skill and talent. Very impressive-check it out.

Track Listing
1. Harbinger 4:31
2. Self Portraits Of The Instincts 3:24
3. Nocturne 3:29
4. Crossing The Rubicon 5:06
5. Sotto Voce 1:34
6. Mea Culpa 3:32
7. Movement From Discord 4:07
8. Channel Detritus 5:27
9. Polaris 4:23
10. Echelons To Molotovs 2:36
11. Desiderata 3:54
12. Vela, Together We Await The Storm 4:36

Added: January 19th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2906
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by