Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Homo Iratus: Human Consumes Human

From Greece comes the death metal/grindcore act Homo Iratus. Human Consumes Human was originally released in 2001, and has recently been reissued by the folks at both Artic & Crash Music. As is the case with many grind-type releases, you get plenty of short songs here, 14 to be exact, featuring loads of crunchy grooves, cookie-monster growls, and even a slight industrial element at times. Not as out and out technical as other bands who travel this similar path, Human Consumes Human at times will remind you, from a musical standpoint anyway, of 90's Sepultura, as there's a big fat bottom end happening here, groovy as all hell, and the arrangements tend to be on the melodic side. It's the vocals of Mitch that drag this album into more of a death/grind territory, as his grotesque growls & grunts are mostly indecipherable, yet well done and offer a unique contrast to the tight, groove laden riffing. The band is rounded out by Alex on guitars & keyboards, Aggelos on bass, and drummer Argyris, with guest percussionist Bill Baharidis rounding things out. At just over 40 minutes long, Human Consumes Human rumbles along pretty quickly, as it offers up thrashy death metal like "Homo Sapiens?", raging grind as on "Hideousness Show", more industrial fare such as "Slavery/Freedom", and the above mentioned Sepultura-ish numbers like "Life Like Violence" and "Dead Upon Conception". Homo Iratus certainly aren't going to be for everyone, and there is a certain schizophrenic nature to Human Consumes Human that can make this a puzzling listen at times, however, there's enough to recommend here for any metal fan who might be interested in checking out some varied extreme sounds.

Track Listing
1. Life-Like Violence 04:13
2. Dead Upon Conception 03:18
3. Project: New World 03:18
4. Absence Of Progress 02:33
5. Homo Sapiens ? 02:39
6. Crawling Principles 02:14
7. Hideousness Show 02:47
8. False Criteria 02:09
9. Sonus In Terrorem 03:01
10. Human Parts Inc. 01:38
11. King Of Logic 01:10
12. Slavery / Freedom 02:35
13. Tomahawk Cruise Messiah 02:34
14. S.H.I.T. 06:04

Added: January 13th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 1810
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by