Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Destroy All Monsters: Live in Tokyo & Osaka 1996

These live recordings from 1996 by Destroy All Monsters is quite the ominous & noisy affair for those who like their avant-garde with a touch of the unexpected. At times this is like a head on collision between King Crimson, Miles Davis, Tangerine Dream, and The Sex Pistols, as Destroy All Monsters seemingly come from all avenues with their bizarre sonic attack, pulverizing the listener with an amalgam of styles that might not make sense to anyone with a penchant for melody. Jangly, distorted guitars, keyboard washes and blips, electronic samples, horns, percussion, odd vocal stylings…all these elements and more make up the framework here. It's not an easy listen by any means, and at times all the feedback and twiddling might sound like a bunch of musicians warming up their instruments and getting ready for a garage jam session. Despite all this, there are some moments here that will peak your interest if you have an open mind, but those who need structure, melody, and top notch recording techniques will probably run in horror at the disjointed, noisy, bootleg quality of this rather raucous avant-garde release.

Track Listing
1. Bruckner's Lonesome Horn
2. Clear Day
3. Good Looking Corpse
4. You Can't Kill Kill
5. Cartoon Soundtrack
6. 900 Million People Daily All Making Love
7. Train to Nowhere
8. In Memoriam John Fahey
9. Four Skins
10. Blues Growl
11. Cloud of Don't-Caring
12. Evil Works
13. Show No Shame
14. Indecipherable
15. Kill Kill (Slight Return)
16. Tomorrow Interruptus
17. Coda (For Bertoia)

Added: January 13th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 1850
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by