Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Armory: The Dawn of Enlightenment

Gotta love when a new band jumps right out of the gate with a whopper of a debut release that's sure to send genre-freaks into a tizzy. That's what's bound to happen when power metal fans get their hands on The Dawn of Enlightenment from Massachusetts band Armory. This release was originally recorded in 2004, but the band decided to re-do the songs and re-record the entire album with a different producer, in hopes of really taking things to a new level. Judging by the results here, that should easily happen, and I can imagine that Armory will soon be getting knocks on their door from many premier metal labels. Sure, they wear their influences on their sleeves, mainly Keeper of the Seven Keys era Helloween, Gamma Ray, Stratovarius,Edguy, Iron Maiden, Hammerfall, and Sonata Arctica, but these guys are really into what they are doing, and it shows, as this CD contains plenty of soaring harmonies, thunderous arrangements, and scorching instrumental brilliance. Case in point, the wild "Riding The Cosmic Winds", featuring stunning vocals from Adam Kurland (who has the Kiske/Dickinson thing down pat), tasty dual guitar harmonies from Joe Kurland & Chad Fisher, and dazzling keyboard flourishes courtesy of Peter Rutcho. Despite the mostly power metal framework, there's enough solo spots and complex riffery going on here to appeal to the prog-metal crowd who spend their days chomping down the latest Dream Theater, Symphony X, Pagan's Mind, and Vanden Plan releases. Want symphonic metal? Look no further than the soaring & highly melodic "Heart of Dreams". Love epics? Check out the amazing journey that is the near 14-minute, highly progressive title track. Crave crushing power metal with speedy double bass drums, harmony leads, and raging riffs? Then tunes like "Forged in Dragon Flames", "The Eyes of Time", "Faith in Steel", and "Mystic Star" should be right up your alley. The band even offers up a near perfect rendition of Iron Maiden's classic "Flight of Icarus" as a bonus track, with Kurland's vocals leading the charge over all the right gallop and bombast elements that the original version had.

Power & progressive metal fans alike should easily find much to savor here with The Dawn of Enlightenment. Chances are we are certain to hear more from this talented band in the months and years to come.

Track Listing
1 The Tempest
2 Faith In Steel
3 Riding The Cosmic Winds
4 Forever Triumphant
5 Heart Of Dreams
6 Warrior Forlorn
7 Forged In Dragon Flames
8 The Eyes Of Time
9 Mystic Star
10 The Dawn Of Enlightenment
11 Flight Of Icarus-bonus track
12 Dr. Wily-bonus track

Added: January 9th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 4354
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by