Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Devillish Impressions: Diabolicanos-Act II: Armageddon

Diabolicanos-Act II: Armageddon is the second release from Polish black/death metal band Devillish Impressions. If you like melodic, symphonic, yet brutal extreme metal, then this is your ticket right here. Falling somewhere between Behemoth, Cradle of Filth, Vader, and Dimmu Borgir, Devillish Impressions mix plenty of thundering riffs, bombastic drum work, orchestral keyboards, and the excellent vocal style of Quazarre, who throws in an array of death metal growls, black metal rasps, and haunting clean passages. The key throughout though are the melodies and epic song arrangements, as each track is fairly lengthy and features tasty guitar harmonies from Quazarre & Armers, wonderful keyboard tapestries courtesy of Turquoissa, and an overall 'big' sound that is not unlike the most recent release from Dimmu Borgir, In Sorte Diaboli.

Being out on the road a lot supporting such acts as Marduk, Aeternus, Vader, Suffocation, and Immolation has obviously done wonders for this band, as the songs on Diabolicanos-Act II: Armageddon are amazingly tight and brimming with extreme power. Tunes like "Tales of Babylon's Whore", "Diabolicanos", and "T.H.O.R.N.S. " offer up plenty of variety, as the band does a great job mixing in death and black metal elements into each song. On the atmospheric and somewhat progressive "Natas Ro Dog On Si Ereht (Of plagues and blasphemy)", Quazarre even mixes in some clean, gothic tinged vocals, but nothing will prepare you for the doom laden death dirge that is the closing piece "Mass for the Dead", this one a torturous number of massive guitar riffs, drum blasts, haunting keys, and evil growls.

Impressive at every level, Diabolicanos-Act II: Armageddon is sure to be a popular extreme metal release here in 2008. On their second full length, Devillish Impressions have shown that they are ready and willing to be accepted as one of the most promising bands on the scene.

Track Listing
01 T.H.O.R.N.S.
02 Rex Inferni
03 The Word was made flesh turned into Chaos again
04 I am the son of God
05 Tales of Babylon's Whore
06 Diabolicanos
07 Natas Ro Dog On Si Ereht (Of plagues and blasphemy)
08 Har-Magedon
09 Mass for the Dead

Added: January 5th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3046
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by