Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shelf Life: Rheuma

More oddball audio torture from the folks at Public Eyesore, Rheuma is the latest release from Shelf Life, which is the project helmed by label honcho Bryan Day that also features Alex Boardman, Joseph Jaros, and Andrew Perdue . Four long tracks, each one containing plenty of bizarro sound effects, electronics, muffled bass rumbles, and guitar noises, Rheuma ultimately comes across as some sort of strange meeting between Robert Fripp's 'Frippertronics' and early Tangerine Dream, except not nearly as interesting. At times ominous and eerie (especially track # 2), for the most part 70 minutes of this type of thing just meanders way too much, and the claustrophobic use of blips, bleeps, clinks, clanks, and wooshes has little if any focus. Still, there's likely an audience for this sort of nightmarish vision, so if your taste runs towards the avant-garde/noise/electronic side of things, by all means check this one out.

Track Listing

Added: December 31st 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Public Eyesore
Hits: 2122
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by