Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Led Zeppelin: Mothership

I know I'm supposed to be blown away and proclaim in glorious tones, "These incredible digital re-masters make these classics shine like never before!" while gushing over Zep's prowess as the innovators of a unique and muscular style of heavy rock that has never been equaled. True as the latter part of that statement is, with Mothership, deep down, more than anything I hear, I smell marketing. Yeah, the tracks are re-mastered, but really they are just louder. There's no sonic revelations in digital re-mastering when the same was done in 1992 to entire LZ catalog. I get it--Mothership is ballyhoo to celebrate the bing-bam-bang of the reticent rockers' long- anticipated appearance on Itunes, as well as to promote their obvious upcoming reunion tour. Hey, I love LZ, too, but to the fan, this casual, clumsily packaged, glorified greatest hits (with previously released video as well) is ill-conceived. LZ fans own all of this material already and don't need it just because it's louder; "new fans" will simply download all of this from Itunes anyway.

All intent aside, the selection of tunes is solid (tho the twin vinyl masterpiece Physical Graffiti gets The Royal Schtooking: only 3 audio tracks & 2 out of 20 DVD tracks were Graffiti's) and proof that LZ really never wilted or faded, they just abruptly went away. The booklet does contain insightful and endearing notes by Rolling Stone's David Fricke as well.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Communication Breakdown
3. Dazed and Confused
4. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Ramble On
7. Heartbreaker
8. Immigrant Song
9. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Rock and Roll
11. Black Dog
12. When The Levee Breaks
13. Stairway To Heaven
Disc: 2
1. Song Remains The Same
2. Over The Hills And Far Away
3. D'Yer Maker
4. No Quarter
5. Trampled Under Foot
6. Houses Of The Holy
7. Kashmir
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Achilles Last Stand
10. In The Evening
11. All My Love
Disc: 3
1. We're Gonna Groove
2. I Can't Quit You Babe (DVD)
3. Dazed & Confused (DVD)
4. White Summer (DVD)
5. What Is & What Should Never Be (DVD)
6. Moby Dick (DVD)
7. Whole Lotta Love
8. Communication Breakdown
9. Bring It On Home
10. Immigrant Song
11. Black Dog
12. Misty Mountain Hop
13. Going To California
14. In My Time Of Dying
15. Stairway To Heaven
16. Rock and Roll
17. Nobody's Fault But Mine
18. Kashmir
19. Whole Lotta Love(DVD)

Added: December 27th 2007
Reviewer: Steve Fleck
Related Link: Led Zeppelin Website
Hits: 2696
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Led Zeppelin: Mothership
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2007-12-27 18:12:09
My Score:

"Mothership: The Very Best Of Led Zeppelin" is the first-ever compilation that celebrates the music of the legendary group across the span of two CD's and its presented twenty four tracks were hand picked by the band members themselves. With the likes of Plant, Page and Jones doing the song selections you would expect it to contain the literal cream of the crop from their back catalog and perhaps even include their own favorite numbers somewhere in the mix. Obviously a band like Led Zeppelin has a lot of great songs and each of them mean something to everyone who has ever been a fan and even though the release manages to cover a lot of ground there are several tracks of note missing from it. Despite this you cannot find fault in it for it seems to include all of the signature and staple numbers without any doubt. We find our "Immigrant Song", "Communication Breakdown", "Black Dog" and the venerated "Stairway To Heaven" to enjoy and while songs like "Livin' Lovin' Maid (She's Just A Woman) and "In The Light" or "In My Time Of Dying" might not be here I am sure they were only left off to keep the release at two CD's as opposed to three or four. Remember, before this compilation was even an idea we had a comprehensive Led Zeppelin boxed set that had four CD's to it, and it was followed by a two CD collection which featured all of the songs left off of that first boxed set. When you add this to the fact that all of the individual albums were made available as a set this comes across as a nice sampler pack for a younger music fan who has not yet experienced the Zeppelin majesty or as something cool for you to get the Led out with while on drives in the car or during free time at the office. Either option works when it comes down to it. The release comes packaged in a foldout digipak that features each band member and includes a book with a great historical summary by David Fricke. The summary gives the listener a better look into why the songs that were included on the set were chosen and makes for interesting reading on its own. It is accompanied by several archive photos from across the bands career. If you already own all of the bands music and video then perhaps this one is not for you, but if you are more the Led Zeppelin fanatic that I think all Rockers have a little touch of inside then by all means grab this to complete your collection and revisit their storied past. As I listened to the CD I found myself amazed at how relevant the music remained and how exciting it still was when played at a proper volume. Truly they were Rock & Roll's Overlords and apparently are still holding strong to that title.

Bonus DVD: The special edition of this release also gives you a bonus DVD as a third disc and it features content that you might have already seen if you purchased a copy of the eponymously titled "Led Zeppelin" DVD that was released a few years ago. If you have not done this then it will definitely serve as a taste of what you will enjoy in full when you go to snare a copy of your own. They don't show snippets of songs here but instead feature the complete numbers, yet with this bonus we find songs than span across the two individual DVD's in that original box. Personally I would have liked to find other footage as opposed to something I already owned but it did make a nice enhancement to the double CD hits we had to jam out to. Songs featured on the DVD are: "We're Gonna Groove", "I Can't Quit You Babe", "Dazed And Confused", "White Summer", "What Is And What Should Never Be", "Moby Dick", "Whole Lotta Love", "Communication Breakdown", "Bring It On Home", "Immigrant Song", "Black Dog", "Misty Mountain Hop", "The Ocean", "Going To California", "In My Time Of Dying", "Stairway To Heaven", "Rock And Roll", "Nobody's Fault But Mine", "Kashmir", "Whole Lotta Love".

» Reader Comments:

Led Zeppelin: Mothership
Posted by Carlos Canales Vega on 2007-12-23 18:33:16
My Score:

I disagree completly.I mean, the big revelations and nuances in the sonic department, the result of this remastering, contrasted with the 92 previous one, are obvious.The booklet is nice and the biography well documented and informative.Besides, the DVD highlights on the bonus disc are very well welcomed.I am not a fan, i like a lot of their songs and this is the perfect compilation for me.Highly Recommended.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by