Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Maiden: Death On the Road (DVD)

Iron Maiden's 2003 trek in support of their studio release Dance of Death culminated in this filming of their show at Germany's Dortmund Westfallenhalle in front of a huge crowd. With three DVD's (one the live event in Dolby Digital 5.1, one in Stereo, and a bonus DVD packed with extras), Death On the Road is heavy on tracks from the Dance of Death album, but does manage to throw in plenty of classic cuts from throughout the band's career. Despite the fact that the camera work consists of too many fast cuts (which is a problem with many live concert DVD's these days) it's a dazzling show, with Maiden rampaging through such scorchers as "The Trooper", "Fear of the Dark", "Wrathchild", "Can I Play With Madness", "Brave New World", "Hallowed Be Thy Name", and the excellent title track to the then new album, "Dance of Death". Most will be pleasantly surprised at the raucous version of "Iron Maiden" and the majestic & acoustic "Journeyman", and pump their fists to the raging yet predictable encores "The Number of the Beast" and "Run To the Hills". Bruce Dickinson was in pretty good vocal form that night, although you could tell that the ravages of a long tour on his voice were in effect. The rest of the band however were extremely tight, their four-man guitar army prowling the stage with youthful vigor and Nicko McBrain bashing his kit with his normal brand of virtuosity. When it comes to delivering dramatic classic metal, no band does it quite like Iron Maiden.

While there has been a glut of live DVD releases from the band in recent memory, thankfully many of them contain different set lists and varied bonus material to make each one a worthwhile purchase for fans. The bonus DVD here contains over 2 hours of interviews (with the band, crew, mangement, and fans), documentaries, videos, photo & artwork galleries. Housed in an attractive package with a colorful booklet, Death On the Road is a worthwhile addition to your Iron Maiden DVD collection.

Track Listing
1. Wildest Dreams
2. Wrathchild
3. Can I Play with Madness
4. The Trooper
5. Dance of Death
6. Rainmaker
7. Brave New World
8. Paschendale
9. Lord of the Flies
10. No More Lies
11. Hallowed Be Thy Name
12. Fear of the Dark
13. Iron Maiden
14. Journeyman
15. The Number of the Beast
16. Run to the Hills

Added: December 15th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Iron Maiden Website
Hits: 2224
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by