Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Resistance: Patents of Control

American power metal/thrash outfit Resistance almost seem like an odd fit on Finland's Lion Music roster, especially with the label's penchant for working with International guitar shredders as well as melodic progressive metal bands. Resistance, on their second album Patents of Control, certainly make a statement that they deserve to be on this noted metal label, or any for that matter, with their brand of tasty and melodic metal with a serious edge, bringing to mind such bands as Judas Priest, Iced Earth, Annihilator, Nevermore, and Metallica. Mixed by none other than Neil Kernon, Patents of Control has a real crisp & heavy sound, and the fact that the band mixes in plenty of classic metal sounds makes it an enjoyable listen. The vocals of Robbie Hett sounds like a cross between Rob Halford and James LaBrie, as he wails with both passion and fury on tracks like "One Nation Under G.O.D", "Inhumanation", and "Confession of the Blackheart". Although a few of the songs have a somewhat generic sound to them as far as the arrangements go, guitarists Dan Luna and Dave Watson always seem to save the day with plenty of crunchy riffs and nimble lead explosions. Tunes like "Ashes of Tomorrow", "Paternal Shift", "The Cleansing" (gotta love the complex riffery on this one!), and the dark closer "Mirrors Black" all contain fluid & melodic guitar solos, tasty harmony lines, and massive riffs. What the band may lack in songwriting skills they certainly make up for in musical & vocal talent, so it's pretty safe to say that these guys are still growing and maturing. Patents of Control is solid and fun classic sounding metal, but perhaps is only showing a glimpse of what this group might be capable of. A band to keep a watch out for.

Track Listing

  1. Inhumanation
  2. End Of Today
  3. Ashes Of Tomorrow
  4. One Nation Under G.O.D. (Group Order Device)
  5. Confessions Of The Black Heart
  6. Paternal Shift
  7. Cerebral Screams
  8. I Am Techno Christ
  9. The Cleansing
  10. The Alpha And The Omega
  11. Mirrors Black

Added: November 7th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Lion Music
Hits: 3089
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by