Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tribuzy: Execution-Live Reunion (DVD)

Forgive me for having missed out on Tribuzy the first time around, when the Brazilian headbangers released Execution in 2005. But this DVD makes up for that — capturing a live show in the band's homeland with appearances by such metal studs as Iron Maiden's Bruce Dickinson, Primal Fear's Ralf Scheepers and Mat Sinner, Angra guitarist Kiko Loureiro and Helloween guitarist Roland Grapow. All of those esteemed guests appeared on Execution, and Tribuzy namesake/vocalist Renato Tribuzy gathered all of them together on stage for the first time for this DVD shoot. (Note: Michael Kiske is noticeably absent.) Although the historical significance of that accomplishment is debatable, it certainly makes for an entertaining 75-minute viewing experience.

Taking to the huge stage at CrediCard Hall in São Paulo as a five-piece, Tribuzy powers through Execution's first three tracks in order – Renato working every corner and screaming in the pure-metal tradition of, say, Rob Halford or Scheepers. The band sounds tight yet sterile until Tribuzy trots out Loureiro and Sinner for "Nature of Evil," Dickinson and Halford guitarist Roy Z for "Tears of the Dragon" and Scheepers (wearing some seriously out-of-control black pants with white flames) and Sinner for "Final Embrace." The energy level intensifies as the show progresses, and by the end, the entire collective has proven a couple of things: One, that a handful of aging headbangers can still strut their stuff way better than some musical peers half their age, and two, that with Tribuzy the future of heavy metal remains in good hands.

Track Listing:
1) Intro
2) Aggressive
3) Divine Disgrace
4) The Attempt
5) Forgotten Time (w/Kiko Loureiro)
6) The Nature of Evil (w/Kiko Loureiro and Mat Sinner)
7) Absolution (w/Ralf Scheepers and Roland Grapow)
8) Final Embrace(w/Ralf Scheepers and Mat Sinner)
9) Web of Life (w/Roland Grapow)
10) Execution (w/Kiko Loureiro)
11) Tears of the Dragon (w/Bruce Dickinson, Chris Dale and Roy Z)
12) Beast in the Light (w/Roy Z and Bruce Dickinson)

Added: November 2nd 2007
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Tribuzy Web Site
Hits: 2445
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by