Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blut Aus Nord: Odinist- The Deconstruction of Reason by Illumination

This music on Odinist is extremely unique. It is like a foggy swirling nightmare encompassed by perpetual harmonic arbitration and unrest. There is never an easy resolution to the compositions as they blur all of the usual boundaries and humiliate your sense of logic with a decidedly conceptual feel to eventually help you gain some familiarity with this haunted, insane musical mind-set. The songs are similar in feel, but certainly not redundant. There is always something mysterious and unique filling the airspace and it seems as though that is how it is intended to be listened to. From the beginning you are greeted with a somber opening track entitled "An Element of Flesh" that sets you up for a dichotomous slap in the face when "The Sounds of the Universe" saunters in. The corruption of harmony and tonal distress found in this track almost reminds one of some of the sounds Voivod experimented with on Killing Technology, save for a much darker and perverse feel. It's fascinating how they combine melodic tonal aspects with "outside" or atonal aspects with such balance for the entirety of the recording. The sound doesn't exhaust your sensibilities as much as stimulate them. That is very impressive, to say the least. The vocals are a fiendish & grimly exorcism of some spiritual divide, not necessarily satanic (Though that seems to be the guiding element). They juuuuust keep their head above the waves of sound to bring attention to their pentameter and drive, but serve more of an atmospheric --and quite possibly-- a philosophical statement of purpose, not provided (I did not receive a copy of the lyrics). To further try and justify this sound… it could be said that this is like a black metal White Pony (Deftones) with some subtle industrial elements--not attributed to sampling. That may seem a little strange, but I swear to whatever god of your liking, that it works extremely well. Highly recommended!

Track Listing
1. An Element of Flesh
2. The Sounds of the Universe
3. Odinist
4. A Few Shreds of Thoughts
5. Ellipsis
6. Mystic Absolu
7. The Circle of the Cycles
8. Untitled
9. Untitled (Outro)

Added: October 31st 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: Bands My Space Page
Hits: 4387
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by