Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Artillery: Through The Years (box set)

Through The Years (Metal Mind, 2007) is sure to become a treasure among fans because this has to be one of the greatest and most anticipated thrash remasters done to date. Just on the strength of By Inheritance (An absolute thrash classic produced by Flemming Rasmussen), with its war inspired themes, strong melodic foundations and harmonized melodic voicing that comprise songs like "Khomaniac", "By Inheritance" and "Don't Believe" would there be enough to justify a reissue. With this release you get the bands entire catalog (4 discs) in a very attractively packaged longbox style set. The packaging includes a unique 32 page booklet attached to the spine; providing documentary style coverage of the bands entire career. It is very cool to read along and listen to the band as they travel through the raw and slightly blackened thrash of their recorded debut Fear of Tomorrow and Terror Squad (second release) to the grand comeback of B.A.C.K., where you are treated to a fully modern Euro-thrash attack, compliments of a nice mix by the one and only Andy Sneap. This set shows some of the finest attributes of the vintage thrash period and remarkably these guys are Dutch. You wouldn't think so if you were just giving a cursory listen—they certainly truly embodied the style in every way. In the end it doesn't matter where they were from because credibility is not an issue with these guys; everything is just too well done. Anyway, hand numbered and limited to 2000 pieces world wide, this retrospective collection is not going to last very long. In fact, it has sold out of a couple of the online distros already! With people paying astronomical prices for these recordings on eBay, Through the Years comes as an absolute bargain for those willing to cough up between 35-65 dollars. That is the price range that I have seen so far, so be sure to check around for the best price before you buy--keeping in mind that the lower end of the economic spectrum will only last for the early period of the release, before demand overwhelms the production.

Excellent artwork/packaging, 24 bit remastered sound, (23 total) bonus song galore and the highest "cool factor" possible make this a must-have! If you are looking to pad your collection with some vintage high quality sounds…Look no further!

Track Listing
Disc 1: (Fear of Tomorrow)
1. Time Has Come
2. Almighty
3. Show Your Hate
4. King Their Name Is Slayer
5. Out of the Sky
6. Into the Universe
7. Eternal War
8. Fear of Tomorrow
9. Deeds of Darkness
10. Out of the Sky (Bonus track)
11. Deeds of Darkness (Bonus track)
12. Fear of Tomorrow (Bonus Track)
13. Hey Woman (Bonus Track)
14. Time Has Come (Bonus track)
15. Mind of No Return (Bonus track)
16. Bitch (Bonus track)
Disc 2: (Terror Squad)
1. The Challenge
2. In The Trash
3. Terror Squad
4. Let There Be Sin
5. Hunger and Greed
6. Therapy
7. At War With Science
8. Decapitations and Deviants
9. The Challenge (Bonus demo)
10. In The Trash (Bonus demo)
11. Therapy (Bonus demo)
12. Let There Be Sin (Bonus demo)
13. All For You (with Per Onink)
14. We are the Dead
15. Too Late to Regret
16. Deserter
Disc 3: (By Inheritance)
1. 7:00 from Tashkent
2. Khomaniac
3. Beneath the Clay (R.I.P.)
4. By Inheritance
5. Bombfood
6. Don't Believe
7. Life in Bondage
8. Equal at First
9. Razamanaz
10. Back in the Trash
11. Khomaniac (Bonus track)
12. Don't Believe (Bonus track)
13. Hey Woman (Bonus track)
14. All For You (Bonus track)
15. Blessed Are the Strong (Bonus track)
16. Day of Doom
Disc 4: (B.A.C.K.)
1. Cybermind
2. How Do You Feel?
3. Out of the Trash
4. Final Show
5. WWW
6. Violent Breed
7. Theatrical Exposure
8. B.A.C.K.
9. The Cure
10. Paparazzi
11. Fly (Bonus track)

Added: October 31st 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 3621
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by