Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motley Crue: Carnival Of Sins Live

Released almost two years to the day that the DVD bearing the same was we find the audio only version of the highly acclaimed Motley Crue reunion tour concert step right up and enter The Carnival Of Sins and leave all hesitation behind. When the tour began in 2005 it became one of the top grossing events of the year and the Crue was truly on top of their game for the performance that was captured on video and this CD that we are reviewing. This was a reunion that excited me very much because Motley Crue was always such an interesting band for most of their career and they epitomized the Hollywood Metal music lifestyle that so many of us longed for or emulated back in the day. They were heroes to some and hated by others but through it all Motley walked the streets in the manner they felt like and when they announced a reunion of the four original members the shows became one of the hottest tickets of the time. The show that I caught in New York's Madison Square Garden was incredible and it was a tour that just begged for a release in some fashion so I was happy to see it eventually released on DVD from their show in Grand Rapids, MI. Now the circle is complete as we have the audio version of this same sold out concert to complete our Motley Crue collection. It's nice to have an audio release for the stereos or car in the event that you are someone who is not really fond of DVD concert films but with this one I have to say that you should get over the hesitation because it's really worthy of purchase. As a concert this show was chock full of Motley Crue hits and the material that was performed over those two hours reached back to their beginnings on Too Fast For Love and brought the audience to the present with the new songs that were recorded for the Red, White & Crue compilation. Six of the performed songs come from Shout At The Devil and I was cool with that since it was actually my own first Motley Crue purchase so many years ago and therefore holds a special place in the music library. I'm sure many fans are nodding their head in agreement with me on this. Some Crue fans will probably find fault that a select number or two are not included on this and it took me awhile to realize that "Smokin' In The Boys Room" had not made it to the set but with the amount of great tunes that are present its easy to let the band slide for leaving out one or two.

Performance wise the band was hot, or dare I say "Red Hot"? They delivered a kick ass set from beginning to end and were to be commended for it. They knew their fans expected the best and they really gave it to them in spades. I also give extended credit to guitarist Mick Mars who was suffering some serious health issues at the time. The CD gives you the full concert in terms of tunes only as the individual solos that both Nikki Sixx and Tommy Lee delivered are not included. The Sixx solo was more in the way of visual than musical and while Tommy Lee is a very accomplished drummer, his own solo was perhaps the worst part of the show. It was too experimental and not Rock and really lost of lot of people's interest as it went on. As far as the packaging for this one they seemed to skimp on the booklet as it's only a four page foldout with a couple of photos and mostly liner notes about the production. They should have expanded in this area since the show was so visual and it would have been something that added to the appeal of the release. I felt that this was more for the Motley Crue fanatic than a casual fan, but I also tend to think that if you like live albums that this is a cool addition to your collection. It's also a great way to relive the concert in your mind had you attended one of the shows they did. The release arrives during a time where both Nikki Sixx and Vince Neil are doing solo adventures while Tommy Lee is apparently no longer a member of the band. Since the reunion tour there has been no new studio release from Motley Crue. This could change at any time but in case it doesn't we still have what's gone down in the past.

Track Listing

  1. Shout At The Devil
  2. Too Fast For Love
  3. Ten Seconds To Love
  4. Red Hot
  5. On With The Show
  6. Too Young To Fall In Love
  7. Looks That Kill
  8. Louder Than Hell
  9. Live Wire
  10. Girls, Girls, Girls
  11. Wild Side
  12. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
  13. Primal Scream
  14. Glitter
  15. Without You
  16. Home Sweet Home
  17. Dr. Feelgood
  18. Same 'Ol Situation
  19. Sick Love Song
  20. If I Die Tomorrow
  21. Kickstart My Heart
  22. Helter Skelter
  23. Anarchy In The UK

Added: October 16th 2007
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2211
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Motley Crue: Carnival Of Sins Live
Posted by Dr Feelgood on 2007-10-17 15:26:58
My Score:

It was a good gig, the DVD proved that but I always felt the sound on the DVD was pretty poor, distorted bottom end which totally ruined it for me. How does the CD sound compare to the DVD anyone?

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by