Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

GDeVA: Bubbles, Bubbles…

Don't let anyone tell you that psychedelic, instrumental rock isn't alive and thriving, and besides that insinuation probably never even crossed the minds of the members of GDeVA, a trio based in St. Petersburg Russia. This set of improvisational jams that make up their debut release Bubbles, Bubbles… takes the listener on a wild, mind bending trip through time and space. All of the material presented here was recorded 'live' in the studio without any touch ups, over the course of two separate sessions, and with 5 tracks total clocking in at 60 minutes, one does get the inclination that these guys do like to stretch out a fair bit. Each track flows with a natural grace, never rushing to reach its final destination, but instead concentrating on slowing building the tension while unraveling each sonic layer one at a time with careful precision. While the overall sound is quite minimalist, with just a typical guitar, bass and drums format, the music is anything but typical. The effects laden guitar work of Andrei Petrov coupled with Valery Berestov's smooth and intricate bass lines and drummer Alexander Kravtsov's multi tempo rhythms, creates an effective aura of both distance and coldness. This is achieved not only in the performances themselves, but also in the recording and production technique as well, which relies heavily on reverb to create the overall atmosphere of distance. The last two tracks which were recorded during the second session feature second guitarist Sergei Fedorov (no not the hockey player) added to the mix, and as the unit expands ever so slightly for these tracks, so do the compositions themselves. "Winter Song" and "Zakolduj (put a spell)" both tip the scales at eighteen and thirteen minutes respectively as Fedorov and Petrov's guitars intertwine with each other seamlessly on these lengthy, hypnotic tracks which brings the disc to it's fitting conclusion.

Overall Bubbles, Bubbles… is a very solid opening statement from these talented musicians. As mentioned earlier, for only three guys they do fill up a lot of space; however it will be interesting to see if they choose to add any new instrumentation on future releases which could further develop their sonic palate.

Track Listing
1) Mechanism -32
2) Impr. In Studio
3) Autobahn
4) Winter Song
5) Zakolduj (put a spell)

Added: October 14th 2007
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: R.A.I.G.
Hits: 4555
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by