Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Limbonic Art: Legacy of Evil

Legacy of Evil (Candlelight) really jumps on it quick with "A Cosmic Funeral of Memories." There is no introduction, buildup…nothing! ...Just a pure, straight out-of-the-box blast attack from hells unholy abyss. I can't think of a better way to celebrate your reformation than that! Listening to the guitars in that song can almost make you want to look down to see if you've stumbled over a fallen beehive. Plain nasty! Norway's Limbonic Art don't let up there because with the next song "A Void of Lifeless Dreams" they come at you with some militaristic triplets, grim vocals and symphonic flourishes (not to overstated) that show you they have plenty of ideas to throw at you, while remaining true to the raw black metal art. It's really hard to believe that the band broke up because of a lack of ideas in the first place?

As the cd goes on it just keeps developing with more tempo changes, sophisticated arrangements and atmospherics that contribute/compliment the songs without overshadowing them. It almost allows you to feel like you are on a journey and their evil twists in the scenery can be quite enticing as it never let's up until the recording is dead and gone. Just listen to the beginning of "Twilight Omen" with its almost "carnival diabolique?" theatrics; setting the tone for a rather epic style song, that is one of the more interesting songs offered in terms of total diversity. Once you have reached this point you are hearing a much different cd than the one that started initially; that is… until the last song recalls the beginning with its raw, animalistic fury reminding everyone that this band still knows its roots.

The production on Legacy of Evil adequately reveals the nuances and subtleties with an overall crispness that is quite refreshing, but certainly non-compromising in terms of the heaviness factor. There is nothing to worry about in terms of sound as this is pretty well done from start to end. Highly recommended!

Track Listing
1. A Cosmic Funeral of Memories
2. A Void of Lifeless Dreams
3. Grace by Torments
4. Infernal Phantom Kingdom
5. Legacy of Evil
6. Lycanthropic Tales
7. Nebulous Dawn
8. Seven Doors of Death
9. Twilight Omen
10. Unleashe

Added: October 10th 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 3355
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by