Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

One Step Beyond: Beyond Good and Evil

Wow, where do you start with this one? One Step Beyond are a band from Australia that plays a pretty eclectic form of extreme metal. Beyond Good and Evil is their latest CD, and second overall. The band are in the process of adding a second guitarist after the passing of their co-founder Jeremy Lammas last year (he played all the guitars on this CD), as well as auditioning for a live drummer. On this CD, bass, vocals, and beat programming was handled by Mad Matt, with vocals also provided by Justin. In the band currently as well is guitarist Rufus. The music? Well, it's hard to describe. At times this is like a mix of Faith No More, Primus, Dillinger Escape Plan, Frank Zappa, and Napalm Death, although you can hear bits of jazz, reggae, and funk at times. The first half of the CD is pretty much in the metal camp, with raging death/grind pieces like "True Faced", "Birth of Disease", and "Maniac/Watch Your Back" mixed in with the more Primus flavored material like "The Party" and "Everyday". Mad Matt's bass licks are outstanding throughout, and coupled with some tasty riffs from the late Lammas, made for a potent brew. As extreme as some of the songs are, there's always this underpinning of funk that really sets this stuff apart. Vocally, these guys are all over the map, as you hear a variety of screams, shouts, and growls, some of which may or may not work for you depending on your taste.

However, later on you get hit with some spacey reggae/hip hop/space rock material like "Black Light Blue" and "Depth of Mind", which really throws a wrinkle in things. Fear not though, as the band rages back with blistering extreme metal like "Made for Cable" and "Foot High Tough Guy" (love that title!) to let you know where their allegiance really lies. It all makes for a very unique listening experience, and it should be interesting to see where these guys go from here.

Oh yeah, and the cover art by Pierre Bourgeault is very cool as well!

Track Listing

  1. True Faced
  2. Birth of Disease
  3. The party
  4. Your God
  5. Maniac/Watch Your Back
  6. Mirrorstance
  7. Everyday
  8. Black Light Blue
  9. Depth of Mind
  10. Made For Cable
  11. Chase
  12. Foot High Tough Guy
  13. Blinding Haze
  14. The Calm Before
  15. Fee to Air

Added: October 6th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2505
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by