Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Front Line Assembly: Millennium (remaster)

Originally released in 1994, Millennium was Front Line Assembly's coup d'état, creatively speaking. With this release the band was able to indulge many of their creative ideas irrespective of cost as Roadrunner records provided all of the necessary financial accommodations to help make this a crossover breakthrough. What separates this recording from the others in the bands repertoire is the incorporation of live guitars (supplied by Devin Townsend on 3 songs) and samples of heavy guitar riffs, by Slayer and Pantera ("Surface Patterns", "Division of a Criminal") to really complement the dark electronic atmosphere; bringing the excitement factor up a few notches for the listener. This ultimately divided the fan-base while simultaneously, stimulated sales for the band. Exceptionally well produced, with excellent clarity and headroom, Millennium set forth a bold foray into industrial music by infusing: heavy metal, rap, and electronica; creating the most sonically heavy and adventurous record in the bands catalog.

This 2007 Metal Mind limited edition (2000 copies) 24 bit remaster is exceptionally well packaged. You will find two gold plated cds (disc two is a collection of b-sides and remixes) housed in a tri-panel fold out sleeve, including a lyric booklet with linear notes detailing the albums creation on high quality paper to boot. Fans of the band… this remaster blows away the original Roadrunner release in every way and is certainly worth the financial investment for the bonus disc alone!

Track Listing
Disc 1:
1. Vigilante
2. Millennium
3. Liquid Separation
4. Search and Destroy
5. Surface Patterns
6. Victim of a Criminal
7. Division of Mind
8. This Faith
9. Plasma Springs
10. Sex Offender
Disc 2:
1. Surface Patterns (Surveillance Remix)
2. Surface Patterns (Chemical Cauldron Remix)
3. Internal Combustion
4. Surface Patterns (Scarification Remix)
5. Millennium (1000 Years of Decay Remix)
6. Millennium (Left in Ruins Remix)
7. Transtime
8. Millennium (Until Death Remix)

Added: October 4th 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 4826
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by