Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shelter: Beyond Planet Earth (remaster)

Originally released in 1997, Beyond Planet Earth find Shelter moving in a "Pop-core" direction, with songs averaging 2-3 minutes that would feel quite comfortable on most major airwaves. Unfortunately, this record was the one that caused their undoing as their devotees cried foul and considered it a "sell-out" of sorts. You could say that the band was reaching too far too quickly and came up with some very mixed results. All things considered, this is pretty catchy stuff. "Alone on My Birthday" infuses ska with a pop sensibility of Everclear-- or maybe Green Day-- with lyrics that feel like they were inspired by the movie Sixteen Candles. Nothing too deep is intended, but certainly good natured and easily related. Lyrically and musically, "Refusal" and "Time is Ticking Away" are two of the very best songs because they retain a little more of the hardcore edge with prominent guitars and quicker pace; not to mention, lyrics of a deeper social awareness, as well. Some of the other songs, like "Man or Beast" or "Helpless" find the band experimenting with hip-hop to ends, which are quite frankly, rather humiliating. The former title, sounding a little too similar to Korn with that bass guitar driving it, probably did not help the situation much either.

Time has probably quieted yesterday's discontent a little and if you listen to the disc on its own terms and ignore what should have been, you just might find yourself being entertained by its youthful energy and charm.

It should be said that the Metal Mind series are really improving in terms of the quality of the plastic cd retainer (aka center hub) and the quality of the paper used throughout! The retainer being particularly important because you can not change them if they are damaged and having a free floating cd is always a constant risk. Every recent piece that I have seen has been given this same level of care and that is another reason that you can have to invest in the Metal Mind series. Very much appreciated!

Track Listing
1. Revealed in Reflection
2. Know So Little (So Well)
3. Rejuvenate
4. Alone On My Birthday
5. Hated to Love
6. Refusal
7. Whole Wide World
8. Helpless
9. Beyond Planet Earth
10. Time's Ticking Away
11. Man or Beast
12. In Praise of Others
13. Eleventh Day of the Moon
14. Shelter (Bonus Track)*
15. Man or Beast (Bonus Track)*
16. Whole Wide World (Videoclip)*

Added: September 28th 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2631
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by