Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bayley, Blaze: Alive in Poland (DVD)

At one point in time Blaze Bayley had the opportunity to front one of the greatest heavy metal bands of all time, Iron Maiden. During that time, the band endured what could best be described as the low point of their career; a very low point. After watching this newest solo DVD offering from Bayley, Alive in Poland, it's easy to understand why.

Bayley is a veteran of the metal scene who obviously pours his heart and soul into his performances. The problem is he just isn't a very good front man, covering both stage presence and vocal talent. His lack of charisma comes shining through during this 15 song set recorded March 24, 2007 at Spodek, Katowice, Poland. Everything about this show seemed anti-climatic. Starting right off with the cheesy intro, which begins with a siren wailing, ala' Thin Lizzy. An ominous voice can be heard counting down, 10, 9, 8, etc. Then it gets to zero; and can you guess what happens? The voice says, "Fire", and the band takes the stage. Needless to say it doesn't make the hair stand up on your arms. Then there's more of the same going forward. Several times throughout the show Blaze goes into a dramatic rant leading into the introduction of the next song. The problem is when he gets to the song title and yells it out, the crowd response sounds like he's playing in front of the geriatric ward of the local hospital, which kind of sucks the life out of the whole moment. There are a few times where the crowd is more enthusiastic, mostly during a couple of Iron Maiden songs the band performs, of which there are six. All the Maiden material covered is from Blaze's time with the band. "Sign of the Cross" is the highlight of the DVD. While the band here is in over their heads playing this classic, it's such a great song you can't help but enjoy it. Funny thing about the crowd; as the concert is ending and the credits are rolling, each band member is interviewed leaving the stage. They all rave about how crazy and wild the crowd was. One can only wonder if maybe they have played to the geriatric unit before?

The production of the DVD is top notch, both video and audio is well done. There are the usual extras; interviews, photo gallery, biographies, etc. The interview with Blaze Bayley is very good and enjoyable to watch. Blaze seems like a fantastic guy, a guy you'd want to hang out with and knock back a few pints. (I guess Steve Harris must have thought the same thing) He's also a guy who is very passionate and loves what he does, whether it's good or not, so you can't fault him there. This DVD is for the hardcore Blaze Bayley fans out there. Whether it's Blaze's stuff, or Maiden with Blaze, those fans may enjoy this DVD. Everybody else in the metal world would be better to steer clear.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Speed of Light
3. The Brave
4. Futureal
5. Alive
6. Tough as Steel
7. Man on the Edge
8. Virus
9. Ten Seconds
10. Two Worlds Collide
11. Look for the Truth
12. Kill and Destroy
13. Silicon Messiah
14. Tenth Dimension
15. Sign of the Cross
16. Born as a Stranger
- plus extras

Added: September 24th 2007
Reviewer: Ken Sanford
Related Link: Blaze Bayley Website
Hits: 2970
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by