Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Archer, Tasmin: On

Tasmin Archer is best known perhaps only known for her 1992 smash debut single, "Sleeping Satellite," a pop track that still sounds good today. But with On only her third album Archer proves time has, indeed, been a friend to her. With multi-instrumentalist John Hughes and bassist Bruce Thomas, Archer turned On into a pure do-it-yourself project, writing between 2002 and 2005, recording at her home in Leeds, England, and releasing these 10 songs on her own Quiverdisc label. The album resonates with atmospheric (often sparse), adventurous and soulful contemporary pop songs that reflect life and death, hope and despair, and beauty and violence. But why, you may ask, should progressive-music fans care about On? Because it is built upon the same sonic foundation as so much solid progressive music: haunting songs that you won't hear on the radio, musical command that will take your breath away, and an independent spirit that will set your ears free.

Track Listing
1) Take Care
2) Sedan
3) Complaints
4) Effect Is Monotony
5) Violence
6) A Day Will Come
7) Emergency
8) A Letter to God
9) Hope
10) Hello

Added: September 18th 2007
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Tasmin Archer Web Site
Hits: 1898
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by