Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Paradox: Heresy (remaster)

The 1989 sophomore release from the German thrash band Paradox unfortunately came out at a time when there was much turmoil within the band. More line-up changes, management,record label, & health issues, all were contributing factors to the band going on hiatus for nearly a decade after the release of Heresy, a damn fine album that deserved more accolades than it got. Gone were hotshot guitarist Markus Spyth (the star of their debut Product of Imagination) and bassist Roland Stahl, replaced by guitarist Dieter Roth and new bassist Armin Donderer (although Matthias Schmitt played bass on the album). Also brought in was another guitarist, Manfred Springer, allowing Charly Steinhauer to concentrate solely on vocals. The music is still a similar brand of European-meets-Bay Area thrash metal, but the arrangements are tighter, the band sounds more mature, and the production is leagues crisper. Take a listen to the opening title track, a killer example of epic thrash, filled with soaring guitar leads, speedy riffs, manic drums from Axel Blaha, and Steinhauer's powerful vocal delivery. Things don't let up there, as the complex riff-o-rama of "Search For Perfection" rampages from start to finish, with Roth & Steinhauer firing off plenty of intricate riffs. Fans of blazing European styled speed/thrash along the lines of early Helloween will love "Killtime", "Crusaders Revenge", and the lightning brutality of "Massacre of the Cathars". However, it's the melodic and catchy sounds of the truly monstrous piece "The Burning" that gets my vote for the song that really shows how much this band had matured over such a short time. After a melancholy acoustic opening, the band lurches in with heavy riffs and plenty of harmony guitars, reminding of a mix between Overkill, Testament, and Anthrax. "Serenity" and "700 Years On" are two kick ass examples of late 80's thrash, littered with crashing drum work, crisp & heavy riffs, and histrionic vocals.

As with all the Metal Mind remasters of old Roadrunner classics, you get full lyrics, photos, improved sound, and some bonus live and demo tracks. It's too bad that this band was pretty much doomed after this release, as this is one hell of an album that should have catapulted them to thrash metal stardom. As it was, it just wasn't meant to be, as they splintered and went on a decade hiatus, only to resurface in the late 90's, dissolve again, and now we hear that they are ready to make their move one more time. Let's hope so.

Track Listing
1. Heresy
2. Search For Perfection
3. Killtime
4. Crusaders Revenge
5. The Burning
6. M.O.T.C. (Massacre Of the Cathars)
7. Serenity
8. 700 Years On
9. Castle In the Wind
10. The Burning -bonus demo
11. Massacre Of the Cathars -bonus demo

Added: September 12th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 5799
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by