Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Paradox: Product of Imagination (remaster)

The 1987 debut from German thrash outfit Paradox, titled Product of Imagination, thrust the young band into the international metal spotlight, launching them into a contract with Roadrunner Records and enabling them to head out on tour with such established acts as Helloween, Candlemass, Overkill, and Tankard. Their sound was along the lines of Metallica, Exodus, Death Angel, Testament, Destruction, and Megadeth, featuring thrashy guitar riffs, blinding solos, a mix of gruff & melodic high pitched vocals, and pounding rhythms. Listening to this Metal Mind remaster today, the music of Paradox sounds extremely dated, but still manages to impress 20 years after its initial release. Lead guitarist Markus Spyth is the star of the show here, as his nimble leads blister across such tracks as "Continuation of Invasion", "Mystery", "Paradox", and the crushing title track. Lead singer Charly Steinhauer has a decent enough voice for this type of metal, and he adds in plenty of rapid & beefy rhythm guitar riffs as well. Bassist Roland Stahl & drummer Axel Blaha round out the line-up and do a fine job throughout. Some of the arrangments remind a bit of fellow Germans Helloween, especially the Walls of Jericho album, as far as the speedy riffs and harmony guitars go, but there are also plenty of Bay Area styled thrash moments as well. This remastered edition sounds just fine, featuring a few bonus live and demo tracks, and the booklet contains full song lyrics.The 80's incarnation of the band only managed to put together two releases, and the line-up was almost completely overhauled by the time their sophomore album came out. The band resurfaced again ten years later with another new line-up, featuring members of Sieges Even & Blind Guardian, but then lost steam until recently, where they are rumored to once again be trying a comeback. In the meantime, their debut has received some pretty royal treatment here, and is a solid example of the 80's European thrash scene.

Track Listing
1. Opening Theme
2. Paradox
3. Deat, Screaming And Pain
4. Product Of Imagination
5. Continuation Of Invasion
6. Mystery
7. Kill That Beast
8. Pray To the Godz Of Wrath
9. Beyond Space
10. Wotan II
11. Paradox -bonus live
12. Death, Screaming And Pain -bonus live
13. Execution-bonus live
14. Pray To the Godz Of Wrath -bonus demo

Added: September 12th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 3446
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by