Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Guff: Symphony of Voices

What a misleading album title. There is no "symphony of voices" on Guff's third full-length record. Instead, four snotty punk rockers who've all changed their last names to Guff plow through 13 amped-up, noisy garage-fueled songs in less than 40 minutes. It's all rather melodic, but it's also dull. And besides, you've heard it all before.

Worth noting, however, is that Steve Perry yes, that Steve Perry showed up at the Los Angeles studio where Guff was recording Symphony of Voices one day to visit a friend. After hearing some of the songs that would eventually land on this disc, Perry inexplicably asked Guff to record an unreleased Journey song he had written with Neal Schon and Jonathan Cain. The result is "I Can See It In Your Eyes," which sounds like Green Day covering Journey, and it's the best song on the album. Go figure.

Track Listing
1) Saving the World
2) Behind Your Smile
3) Symphony of Voices
4) Bleed Like You
5) No Gods, No Masters
6) No More Time
7) Hard to Remember
8) Rejected
9) The More You Tried to Hide
10) The Fever
11) Changed
12) I Can See It In Your Eyes
13) Just Like It's Supposed To Be (Bonus Track)

Added: September 12th 2007
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Guff Web Site
Hits: 2276
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by