Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jethro Tull: The Best of Acoustic

This charming single-disc collection of 24 tracks chosen by frontman Ian Anderson exposes a side of Jethro Tull that has always existed in one form or another. But what's surprising is how vibrantly organic and rich this music sounds when taken out of its original-album context and justifiably magnified. Don't listen for the obvious choices, though. In addition to "Life Is A Long Song," Thick As A Brick (Intro)" and "Skating Away (On the Thin Ice of the New Day)," Anderson includes some personal favorites and more obscure selections from compilations and his own solo albums, plus a pair of previously unreleased songs "One Brown Mouse" and a live version of "Pastime With Good Company." Such exotic instruments as bouzoukis, balalaikas, the mouth organ, the harpsichord, the glockenspiel, and assorted whistles and percussion take the spotlight on The Best of Acoustic. The result is a laid-back yet compelling listening experience that spans much of the band's career and reveals Tull's true diversity.

Track Listing:
1) Fat Man
2) Life Is A Long Song
3) Cheap Day Return
4) Mother Goose
5) Wond'ring Aloud
6) Thick As A Brick (Intro) (Edit No. 1)
7) Skating Away (On the Thin Ice of The New Day)
8) Cold Wind to Valhalla (Intro)
9) One White Duck/0=Nothing At All
10) Salamander
11) Jack in the Green
12) Velvet Green
13) Dun Ringill
14) Jack Frost and the Hooded Crow
15) Under Wraps
16) Jack-A-Lynn
17) Someday the Sun Won't Shine
18) Broadford Bazaar
19) The Water Carrier
20) Rupi's Dance
21) A Christmas Song
22) Weathercock
23) One Brown Mouse (Previously Unreleased)
24) Pastime With Good Company (Live in Denmark) (Previously Unreleased)

Added: September 5th 2007
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Jethro Tull Web Site
Hits: 1965
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by