Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

S.O.D.: Rise Of The Infidels

For a band that was launched as a side project to their already existing groups the Stormtroopers Of Death or S.O.D. as they are often called, managed to create quite a stir with their debut recording Speak English Or Die. With this album the band found themselves making a little bit of music history because they were the first to blend the elements of Hardcore Punk and Thrash Metal into a new blend of sonic assault that was often referred to as "Crossover Thrash". The members of the group are Billy Milano (vocals), Scott Ian (guitar), Dan Lilker (bass) and Charlie Benante (drums) and since this time collaborations of this kind are rather commonplace and not always as interesting. When S.O.D. was doing it no one was sure how it was going to be received and given the original premise I am not sure that the band even cared. The songs that they did were fast paced like classic Hardcore and used to some effect the riffs from the growing Thrash Metal scene and made songs like "Pu$$ywhipped" and "Kill Yourself" among their most popular numbers. This EP finds the band reunited and delivering what comes off as the longest EP in music history with its 24 included numbers. It begins with a couple of songs where Milano speaks out against people's complacency in life as things steamroll over them and also how many are willing to cow down to places like Starbuck's. He finds amazement at the pricing for what the product is and I guess like Chris Caffery always laments "Starbuck's pisses him off". Tracks three and four are the bands chance to cover tunes by Hardcore legends Agnostic Front and Negative Approach. They come out swinging on these tunes and that makes sense since Milano and the guys were always deeply rooted in the original NYHC scene when it was in full-swing.

The EP continues with a blistering live set that captures S.O.D. just the way you were meant to enjoy them onstage. Recorded at The Fenix in Seattle, Washington the group makes no bones about opening up with the "Ballad Of Nirvana", a song that is only a few chords from "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and the words "You're Dead". That boldness and twisted sense of humor was a lot of what the band was all about and they feature about six more similar ballads towards the middle of the set. The recording of this concert is pretty good and seems to be more of a sound board production than an audience one. Either way it does the band the justice as one would hope that it would and comes off as energetic, funny and as irreverent as the band has been known to be across their career. The set is primarily built upon their classic album Speak English Or Die and gets to all of the tunes that the band was most notorious for delivering. The audience seems to be having fun and of course Milano makes sure to berate them from time to time for good measure. No one is safe at an S.O.D. show but Milano does stress that if someone is stage diving to be sure to catch them. While this is might be more geared for those that were really big fans of S.O.D., it's not a bad thing for the casual fan to enjoy and appreciate. The band only gets together every so often as their own bands of Anthrax, Nuclear Assault and M.O.D. keep them rather busy but when S.O.D. does reunite you can be rest assured that there will be no safe haven.

Track Listing
1. Stand Up And Fight
2. Java Amigo
3. United And Strong
4. Ready To Fight
5. Ballad Of Nirvana/March Of The S.O.D.
6. Sgt. D and The S.O.D.
7. Kill Yourself
8. Milano Mosh
9. Speak English Or Die
10. Fuck The Middle East
11. Douche Crew
12. Ballad Of Jimi Hendrix
13. Ballad Of Jim Morrison
14. Ballad Of Inxs
15. Ballad Of Frank Sinatra
16. Ballad Of Nirvana
17. Ballad Of Freddy Mercury
18. Cromatic Death
19. Fist Banging Mania
20. No Turning Back
21. Milk
22. Pussywhipped
23. Freddy Krueger
24. United Forces

Added: August 30th 2007
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Official Website
Hits: 3033
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by