Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doom:VS : Aeternus Vale

Johan Ericson (Draconian) released a solo album that feels like a work of passion. The problem is that it has a difficult time identifying with the listener. The music is incredibly slow paced with no hooks, and the six songs all feel like extensions of each other. It was an album that begs to be enjoyed, but just doesn't quite satisfy. Musically, there is not much originality here. The enjoyment of this album is mostly in the dark atmosphere that the passages create, and the poetic lyrics. However, after a while one becomes desensitized to this, and later parts of the album have little effect. As with blast beats, slow dark passages have their strongest effect when done at select times. Otherwise it's like watching a horror movie where every time the camera pans the scary guy is there, after a few times it is anticipated and has no impact.

Track Listing
1. The Light that Would Fade
2. Empire of the Fallen
3. The Faded Earth
4. Oblivion Upon Us
5. The Crawling Insects
6. Aeternus

Added: August 28th 2007
Reviewer: Scott Borre
Related Link: Firebox Records
Hits: 2023
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by