Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dysrhythmia / Rothko: Fractures (split EP)

Fractures is the new split EP between New York's instrumental math rock kingpins Dysrhythmia and London's veterans of atmospheric soundscapes Rothko. Three songs clocking in at 27 minutes, you get the massive 14-minute "Earthquake" first from Dysrhythmia, a remake one of their older pieces from their Contradictions album from 2000. Seething with violent energy, the trio unleash plenty of intense arrangements on this one, feature elastic guitar & bass torrents and manic drum patterns. Rothko on the other hand take the opposite end of the spectrum, as they conjure up spooky and foreboding images on "Tell Your Story to the Winds" and the chilling "Torch", using dual bass guitars, keyboards, drums, and eerie effects. Hard to say whether this EP will appeal to opposing crowds, as both bands are very different from each other, but if you want a snapshot of what both have to offer, Fractures is a brief but effective sampler.

Track Listing
1 Earthquake
2 Tell Your Story to the Winds
3 Torch

Added: August 20th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2295
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by