Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Delirium: Live

After a thirty year plus hiatus, Italian legends Delirium are back with a new live album. Though not as well known as PFM or Le Orme, Delirium enjoyed several hit singles in their native country back in the early seventies and released three wonderful studio albums that seem to have been somewhat neglected over the years. Back to right that wrong are original members Ettore Vigo on keyboards, Martin Grice on flute and sax and percussionist Pino Di Santo joined by new members Fabio Chighini on bass and Roberto Solinas on guitars.

The music of Delirium has a symphonic folk vibe with a hint of jazz, somewhat akin to Jethro Tull and PFM but with a touch of The Moody Blues. However, on the new live album recorded in 2006, Delirium sounds very powerful and punchy with some surprisingly crunchy electric guitars from Mr. Solinas. After an instrumental "Opening", the band rip into "Villagio" from Lo Scemo e il Villagio with the vigor of a band much younger than their years would suggest. Solinas' ripping guitar and Grice's spitty flute and honking saxophone leads the charge here as well as on the spooky "Gioia, Disordine, Risentimento". Delirium prove that they've lost nothing in the vocal department either on cuts like "Preludio: Paura", "Movimento I: Egoismo" and the band's best know track "Jesahel". Their harmonies are still quite striking.

The only disappointment is that fifteen minutes of the CD is given to cover songs. The "Jethro Tull Medley" is performed flawlessly but it would have been much more wise to include something from Delirium III which is curiously neglected here. Likewise the album closer, Joe Cocker's arrangement of "With a Little Help From My Friends", isn't a very inspired choice for ending what is otherwise a very solid live album.

Overall, Delirium: Live is a very strong and most welcome comeback from this long dormant and most underrated band. Here's hoping that an all new studio album won't be too far behind. I'm sure Delirium would go down well with the progressive rock festival circuit. How about it, NEARfest?

Track Listing

  1. Opening (2:41)
  2. Villagio (5:53)
  3. Movimento I: Egoismo (5:17)
  4. Preludio: Paura (4:14)
  5. Culto Disarmonico (5:40)
  6. E L'ora (5:39)
  7. Dolce Acqua: Speranza (5:41)
  8. Gioia, Disordine, Risentimento (6:17)
  9. Jethro Tull Medley (7:20)
  10. Notte a Baghdad (3:21)
  11. Johnny Sayre: Il Perdono (5:05)
  12. Jesahel (4:36)
  13. With a Little Help From My Friends (8:18)

Added: August 19th 2007
Reviewer: Steve Pettengill
Related Link: Delirium Web Site
Hits: 2158
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by