Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Solitude Aeturnus: Alone

Since bursting onto the scene in 1991 with their killer debut Into the Depths of Sorrow, Solitude Aeturnus remain to this day one of the most underrapreciated bands in doom metal. Taking their cue from Black Sabbath, Candlemass, Pentagram, and Trouble, the band have released a handful of fine CD's over the years, and now find themselves on Locomotive Records for their latest Alone. Also of note is that lead singer Robert Lowe also finds himself as the current vocalist for Candlemass since the departure of Messiah Marcolin. Doing double duty has not slowed he or the band down, as Alone is just as strong as the latest Candlemass King of the Grey Islands, showing Lowe to still be an exceptional vocalist in the genre.

Stylistically, Solitude Aeturnus aren't all that different from Candlemass. Each band features epic & massive sounding guitar riffs (slow and doomy I might add) with rich lyrical content, plodding & crushing rhythms, and magical melodies. Most songs here are in the 5-9 minute range, standouts being "Scent of Death", the driving, lead guitar fueled "Sightless", the super crunchy "Waiting For the Light", the symphonic doom of "Upon Within", and the grand, majestic metal epic that is "Is There", a song that should easily appeal to Dio-era Sabbath fans. Lowe just soars to the heavens on this one, showing a wide range of power and emotion that also sounds quite unique. On "Tomorrow's Dead", the band goes for the slow, death march vibe, easily the heaviest and doomiest piece on the CD, and featuring a killer chorus.

Whether Alone ranks up there with their classic earlier albums will depend on the listener, but I'll go on record and say it does. This is classy, well executed doom metal, leagues more interesting than a lot of what passes for this kind of stuff these days. Hopefully this band will finally get there due.

Track Listing
1. Scent Of Death
2. Sightless
3. Blessed Be The Dead
4. Waiting For The Light
5. Upon Within
6. Burning
7. Is There
8. Tomorrows Dead
9. Essence Of Black

Added: August 14th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3657
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by