Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Forever In Terror: Restless In The Tides

It must be nice to be a bunch of 18 year old high school kids who have a little band and all of a sudden find yourself signed to one of the worlds most important metal labels. That is the story of Forever In Terror, the five piece band from Ohio who now find their little band on Metal Blade Records, a dream come true for most young musicians and a reality for these young upstarts. Restless In the Tides is the debut album, a solid mix of modern metalcore, thrash, black and death metal. Fans of The Black Dahlia Murder and Beaneath the Buried and Me will love the massive amount of breakdowns and complex riffery, not to mention the surprisingly acrobatic guitar solos that litter this CD. Musically speaking, these guys really have the chops for a band that is so young. Killer tracks like "Leviathan", "Destroy Us", and "Shameless Crucifiction" (love the atmospheric acoustic section guys) contain non-stop drum barrages and swirling, heavy guitar riffs, and the propulsive bass work of Josh Owen cements each and every tune. While singer Chris Bianchi has a voice that really fits this style of music, he hasn't yet developed his own unique style, and basically sounds like so many other singers in the genre these days. With a little more seasoning, perhaps he will develop something that stands out for him, but right now he is prone to the conventional screaming and shouting, which works, but doesn't differentiate him from anyone else. Overall, Restless In the Tides is a very solid debut, filled with chops heavy extreme metal (take a listen to the title track and "Upon Your Grave" for great examples of the talent here) and memorable melodies that are sure to help them move up the ladder on the Metal Blade roster.

Track Listing
1. Destroy Us
2. Leviathan
3. In the Face of The Faceless
4. The Chosed One
5. Shameless Crucifixion
6. I'm Not Afraid Of Tomorrow
7. Upon Your Grave
8. To Burn Alone, To Burn Alive
9. All Left Drowning
10. Restless In the Tides

Added: August 11th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2645
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by