Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lebanon: Planet Rubble

This post rock collective from Tel Aviv changes its musical mind faster than your kid brother changes underwear during a severe bout with the flu. In the opening track, "Finland," alone the band moves from artistic progressive maneuvers, to soothing ambient passages to unsettling math rock mashings. Unlike some of the all-boy collectives maneuvering through the U.S. at the moment, this quartet––Juval Haring, Avishai Londner, Avinoam Sterheim and Ira Mostyn––actually appears to have a rhyme and reason for its ways. The band careens between passages of unspeakable beauty and unspeakable horror in pieces such as "Buried In The Avenue," "We Never Sleep" and "Joan Of Arc" and commits some of the most memorable instrumental rock this side of Maserati to tape. Certainly not the band's masterpiece––here and there it feels like there could be more attention given to dynamics and, on occasion, a little more attention to intense calm rather than sweltering storms––but a damn fine start.

Track Listing
1. Finland
2. Buried In The Avenue
3. The Dying Dying Man
4. No More
5. Megalith
6. We Never Sleep
7. Joan Of Arc
8. Know Hope
9. Poltergeist
10. Peter Pan Man
11. Tall Latte

Added: July 31st 2007
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: Australian Cattle God Records
Hits: 1953
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by