Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Marduk: Warschau

Honestly, is there any other black metal band as brutal, violent, blasphemous, and maniacal as Marduk? Tough call, but if they are not the most extreme black metal band in the universe, they definitely reside near the top of the heap. Regain Records has been busy reissuing much of the bands back catalog lately, and the latest release is the 2005 live album Warschau from these Swedish terrors. This 17 song set features plenty of goodies from their early albums as well as tunes from their then new release Plague Angel, and it marks the inaugeral live album appearance from new singer Mortuus, who replaced a very popular frontman in Legion, but does a damn good job here covering the classic material. Mortuus has a very different delivery than Legion, and it's safe to say he comes across more deadly, more evil, more monstrous than the former vocalist, as his voice sounds like he gargles with broken glass and razors on a regular basis, perfectly fitting the non-stop blast beat mania and crushing guitar onslaught that is the war machine called Marduk. Relentless examples of brutality like "Panzer Division Marduk", "Wolves", "Burn My Coffin", and "Sulphur Souls" just drip with ferocity, yet there's always just enough precision and class to their furious delivery that makes each Marduk song something special. Morgan's riffs, littered with raging tremelo picked notes and crushing chords, bludgeon the listener into submission, while the rumbling bass of Devo and Emil's barrage of blast beats are guaranteed to turn your brain to complete mush. All this might not seem like a good time to fans of more subtle musical styles, but if you like brutal Scandinavian black metal, filled with lyrics about war and Satanism, then take a step into the violent world of Marduk, who are one of the best of the genre. Warschau is a killer live album, which when it was first released was in celebration of the bands 15 year anniversary. If you want a great cross section of Marduk classics old and new, also get Internal External, their earlier 2CD live set featuring Legion on vocals. This way you can get a feel for both singers, and the two live releases cover a wide range of Marduk material.

Track Listing

  1. The Hangman Of Prague
  2. Seven Angels, Seven Trumpets
  3. Slay The Nazarene
  4. Azrael
  5. Burn My Coffin
  6. Panzer Division Marduk
  7. Blutrache
  8. Bleached Bones
  9. The Black...
  10. Steel Inferno
  11. On Darkened Wings
  12. With Satan And Victorious Weapons
  13. Throne Of Rats
  14. To The Death's Head True
  15. Sulphur Souls
  16. Warschau
  17. Wolves

Added: July 3rd 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Marduk Website
Hits: 2618
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by