Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

McLaughlin, John: The Essential John McLaughlin

This two-disc set chronicles, in just over two hours, one of the most extraordinarily inventive guitarists and musical minds of the last and current century. From his time with Graham Bond to his work with Miles Davis, the Mahavishnu Orchestra, Trio Of Doom (with Jaco Pastorius and Tony Williams), and beyond, McLaughlin has never settled or cared much for delivering anything less than his best.

Often, collections such as this one features as many nadirs as zeniths but, for once, that's been dodged. Perhaps that, more than anything, speaks to McLaughlin's artistic and human strength more than the tastes of the compilations makers. While "Doxy" (taken from his days with Bond) and "Spectrum" suffer a little sonically, the true truth-seeking quality of both endures. Elsewhere, we visit his work with Carla Bley and Paul Haines ("Rawalpindi Blues"), the quintessential Mahavishnu ("Birds Of Fire," "The Dance Of Maya") and Carlos Santana ("A Love Supreme: Part I: Acknowledgement") from the absolutely essential Love, Devotion, Surrender album.

Disc Two offers more fiery mayhem with "David" (featuring Paco De Lucia and Al Di Meola from the Passion, Grace and Fire disc) and "Electric Dreams, Electric Sighs," which features a rare performance from Indian violin virtuoso L. Shankar. A late collaboration with Davis ("Aura (Introduction)") proves that when these two giants were in each other's company, the spheres aligned to make for impossibly majestic music, while "Two Sisters" demonstrates that McLaughlin's abilities as a composer are on level with his abilities as a guitarist.

While it's easy to get trapped in the thinking that Hendrix, Vai, Clapton, Page, Satriani and so forth are the guitarists of all time, to neglect McLaughlin from that list is akin to denying China's existence as a major global force. Brilliant and essential indeed.

Track Listing
Disc One
1. Doxy
2. Spectrum
3. Marbles
4. Right Off
5. Follow Your Heart
6. Rawalpindi Blues"
7. Goodbye Porkpie Hat
8. Peace One
9. The Dance Of Maya
10. Birds Of Fire
11. A Love Supreme (Part I: Acknowledgement)

Disc Two
1. Wings Of Karma
2. India
3. Do You Hear The Voices You Left Behind?
4. My Foolish Heart
5. Electric Dreams, Electric Sighs
6. Dark Prince
7. David
8. Aura (Intro)
9. Animato(Third Movement)
10. Two Sisters
11. Wayne's Way

Added: July 2nd 2007
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: Legacy Recordings
Hits: 2682
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by