Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Astronaut Down: God's Eye

New York's Astronaut Down have just released their new album God's Eye, a collection of modern rock songs mixed with a sprinkling of prog rock and progressive metal, sure to please fans of Coheed and Cambria, Avenged Sevenfold, and The Mars Volta. Anyone who has seen the band live on the club scene over the past three years will be familiar with these songs, as Astronaut Down has been kicking these tunes around in their set pretty regularly. While the vocals of Keith Bowen fit squarely in the threshold of most modern rock and emo singers, he's not the band's strongpoint, as he sounds more at home on the mellower pieces like "Won't Stay Dead" and "The Dream" than he does on the more aggressive tracks like "Dying Words" and "The Storm". I'm sure over time, as this band starts to fully realize their potential on the proggy end of the spectrum that Bowen will adapt his voice to the music better. He has a good voice, but he still seems to be trying to figure out how to alter his style for the heavier songs. Musically these guys are on fire, as guitarist Jeremy Daigle throws in plenty of Alex Lifeson meets Robert Fripp styled riffs and solos while the rhythm tandem of bassist Joe Morse and drummer Jeff Palermo play some pretty tricky spots while also holding down the groove. The instrumental number "The Testing" is where these guys show their true colors, as this one is a near 8-minute tour de force of King Crimson /Mahavishnu Orchestra type complex frenzy with a dash of metal thump thrown in for good measure. Other tracks like "Into the Eye" and "Truth is Surfacing" show a band that seems to be at odds between their experimental, progressive tendencies and desire for more commercial sounds. Honestly, the two merging work well here, and I think with a better production next time around (the drum sound is rather overpowering yet tinny, and the guitars could be punchier) this band could really make some waves. They have all the talent, all they need now is for everything to come together a little more.

Track Listing

  1. Dawn
  2. Dying Words
  3. The Awakening
  4. Stabbed in the Back
  5. Won't Stay Dead
  6. The Testing
  7. Truth is Surfacing
  8. Rescue
  9. The Storm
  10. The Dream
  11. Into The Eye
  12. Aisling's Theme

Added: June 28th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3108
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by