Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fareri, Francesco: Secrets Within

Italian super over shredder, Francesco Fareri, has released his latest CD, Secrets Within via Lion Music. Split into 2 contrasting half's, Secrets Within clocks in at over an hours worth of music. The first half called, "Into The Dark Line", is a total Shred, Thrash Metal over the top section, while the second section called, "Out Of The Dark Line" is a much more introspective, acoustic guitar and keyboards only music.

In the first half of the Secrets Within CD, Fareri is a man possessed. In the "Into The Dark Line" section which is a Shredder guitar players feast, Fareri goes over the top on each and every track with hyper fast sweep arpeggios and faster than Michael Angelo runs up and down the guitar. Too be honest, he's TOO fast! The guitar runs are almost all the same and possess absolutely no feel what so ever. Shred fans probably won't care about this, sighting the faster the better, but when is too fast, too much? For an instrumental record, Fareri lacks the songwriting ability with these 9 Thrash songs and they are nothing more than a vehicle for his super speedy leads. Anyone remember the Vinnie Vincent Invasion?

The second half of the CD, dubbed, "Out Of The Dark Line" is a much more expressive and thoughtful section of music. Comprised of only acoustic guitar and keyboards, Francesco Fareri is able to pull back a bit and add more texture to these songs. The themes and melodies on the acoustic pieces are much more musical and delicate. Yes, there are still speedy guitar passages but these runs DO have that feeling and passion that the Metal section does not.

Francesco Fareri is without a doubt one of the fastest guitarists that I've ever heard... without a doubt. But without a decent song to go along with that speed, what's the sense? The Secrets Within CD is an interesting idea; having 2 separate halves of completely different music is pretty cool. Fans of over the top super shredding guitar will probably eat this up, but to me the lack of songs in the metal section, kill it for me. The acoustic music is much more appealing and creative.

For fans of over the top shredders only.

Track Listing
Into The Dark Line
1) Secrets Within
2) Circle
3) Lies
4) Sonic Garden
5) The Waves
6) Destiny
7) Liquid World
8) Present Glow
9) Scenes
Out Of The Dark Line
10) Parallel Lives
11) Wood Of Silence
12) Masquerade
13) Undefined
14) Seasons
15) Secret World

Added: June 25th 2007
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2348
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by