Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Akercocke: Antichrist

"Prepare the Goat!" "It's time for your satanic baptism!!!"

Seriously, this is complete soul murder. This opus opens deaths door and kicks your ass right through! The production is going to be the biggest point of contention in assessing this CD. Basically, treble = light and bass = darkness. The theme here--kill the light! This sounds like it was created in a dark underworld where Morbid Angel meets the disturbing feel of Gorguts, absolutely brutal and cruel! Akercocke have lived up to their word and delivered a CD that recalls the brutality found in earlier templates of the Black/Death genre. Don't get me wrong, the ancient textures and electronic experimentation are still there (especially in tracks 1-6) but delivered in a fierce and straightforward fashion are tracks "Man without Faith or Trust" and "Footsteps Resounding in an Empty Chapel". The band is particularly fearless when considering how dry the recording can be at times. The mix really extends a general feeling of discomfort with a grounding rawness being the crowning objective achieved. One thing that has remained the same is the intensity of the performances. Fans of drummer David Gray will rejoice in hearing him pound at click-track certified 280bpm on this album. He also manages to color and compliment (In his Neil Peart kind of manner) many of the slower sections with skilled timing and lyrical flavorings. (This guy is definitely one to watch.) Guitarist Matt Wilcox (love all that sag in the rhythms b.t.w.) continues his schooled splendor with bassist Peter Benajamin adeptly filling the void of the dearly departed Peter Theobalds who was the primary contributor of the bands artwork aesthetic in the past. Also, let's not forget Jason Mendoca who continues his varied vocal stylings and delivers more interesting and solid performances throughout this killer. I should also mention that I have the limited edition release with the Morbid Angel (solo's freakin kill man) and Death covers respectively and those absolutely Destrrrroooy!!! I mean, can you tell me you are not a little curious as to how the band handles Schuldiner and Sandoval? If you have the extra cash, get it soon because it's limited to 8000 pieces worldwide.

I could go on an on, but lets finish this and leave a little intrigue. This is a CD that you will have to accept on its own terms because it does not go out of its way to make it easy for you. Essentially, it is more of a purest in orientation and delivery. I also must make mention…Those of you that still live at home better be careful because your parents will kick your ass out if they hear you crankin' this one! Cool factor #1!!

Best "Original" Tracks: Summon the Antichrist, Axiom and The Dark Inside

Track Listing
1. Black Messiah" - 0:56
2. "Summon the Antichrist" - 5:14
3. "Axiom" - 5:14
4. "The Promise" - 3:36
5. "My Apterous Angel" - 6:52
6. "Distant Fires Reflect the Eyes of Satan" - 2:31
7. "Man Without Faith or Trust" - 3:27
8. "The Dark Inside" - 6:43
9. "Footsteps Resound in an Empty Chapel" - 4:19
10. "Epode" - 2:36
11. "Chapel of Ghouls" (Morbid Angel Cover)
12. "Leprosy" (Death Cover)

Added: July 15th 2007
Reviewer: Hugh Dark
Related Link: Akercocke Website
Hits: 3924
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Akercocke: Antichrist
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2007-07-15 15:00:45
My Score:

With all the promise that the UK's Satanic extreme metal brigade Akercocke showed on their previous release Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone (or any of their earlier albums for that matter), expectations were high for Antichrist, and the band does not disappoint one bit. Once again mixing brutal death and black metal with just enough atmosphere and progressive flourishes, Akercocke continue to show here why they are one of the bands destined for a serious 'breakout' among the hordes of extreme acts. Crushing, bottom heavy arrangements, gutteral cookie monster growls, mysterious clean vocals, tortured black metal shrieks, punishing guitar riffs, proggy interludes, and manic drum work, permeate monstrous examples of brutality like "Axiom", "Summon the Antichrist", "My Apterous Angel", and the astonishing "The Dark Inside". Far from being a straightforward listen, like all Akercocke releases this one will take a few listens to fully sink in and digest, as each track has many nuances and characteristics, sometimes the mood and tempo changing drastically within each song. Plenty of noodling and orchestrations going on, which will please the prog crowd who embraced the bands last platter, and bombastically heavy in spots as any other death metal release that you are likely to hear anytime soon. Opeth fans will especially like how the band combines the clean vocals with the death growls and black metal screams, and playing the brutal heavy riffs off of bubbling synths, orchestrations, and Middle Eastern acoustic passages.

If all this ain't good enough, the limited edition comes with two bonus Morbid Angel and Death cover tunes, each one 'extremely' well done and with the Akercocke stamp written all over them. Evil never sounded so good.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by