Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Fire: Blade of Triumph

After half a decade of trials and tribulations, vocalist Martin Steene and Denmark based Iron Fire return with their fourth full length album, and second effort for Napalm Records, Blade of Triumph. After getting booted from their original label, Napalm Records took the chance and trusted Steene, signing the band to release 2006' aptly titled Revenge. The band has gone through numerous lineup changes throughout the years, with Steene remaining steady as the band leader, never giving up his dream.

Blade of Triumph is a good solid power metal album. While nothing spectacular jumps out at first listen, the overall quality of the album is consistently good. The songs are well written, melodic and are enjoyable to listen to. Consistent is the key word here. As stated there isn't anything that jumps out at the listener as fantastic or groundbreaking by any means, but the songs are powerful, melodic, and catchy, and there isn't a bad one in the bunch. After a few spins the album becomes more enjoyable as the songs become more familiar, but still remains rather bland because there's just that underlying feeling that more is to be expected. "Bloodbath of Knights", "Dawn of Victory", and "Bridges Will Burn" are a few of the more potent tracks from this collection. One thing is for sure is that Martin Steene is a good singer who is doing his best to bring epic metal to the masses with his vision for Iron Fire.

Iron Fire are very reminiscent of legendary bands such as Helloween and Hammerfall, with a touch of Manowar; combining these types of elements in their music. There is plenty of talk about warriors, brotherhood, battles won and lost, on Blades of Triumph. Power metal fans should find this to their liking, while fans of other types of metal may find it to be the same old same old.

Track Listing
01. Dragonheart
02. Bloodbath Of Knights
03. Dawn Of Victory
04. Lord Of The Labyrinth
05. Bridges Will Burn
06. Follow The Sign
07. Steel Invaders
08. Jackal's Eye
09. Legend Of The Magic Sword
10. Gladiators Path
11. Blade Of Triumph

Added: June 11th 2007
Reviewer: Ken Sanford
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3566
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by