Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Galas, David: The Cataclysm

David Galas is a former member of the Dark Wave band Lycia and when the group broke up in 2000 he began to devote himself to his debut solo project called The Cataclysm which has been released by Vendlus Records. Galas plays all the instruments on this disc so it is a true solo project in every sense of the word. All of the music, and there is a lot at over 70 minutes, was written and recorded over the course of just over six years between 1999-2005 so the album has been in a perpetual slow burn from the beginning. All I can say is the wait is definitely justified because Galas has certainly created quite an impressive, visceral and bleak sounding slab of a soundtrack that I think could resonate for the next ten years or so. The compositions have been carefully crafted and no stone has been left unturned as each song has been richly layered with a close attention being paid to the murky atmospherics which permeate the music. His voice is dark and introspectively melancholic and while there is certainly a lot to digest on The Cataclysm, especially in one sitting, it is an ultimately rewarding and enriching listening experience. If you are a fan of Gothic and Dark Wave music then you'll want to grab this one right away. The Cataclysm demands your full attention and deserves to not just be heard, but listened to, preferably in the dark and with headphones, in order to experience the full impact of Galas' vision properly.

Track Listing
1) Asleep In The Field
2) The Harvest
3) American Melancholy
4) Alone We Will Always Be
5) The End Is Always Closer
6) Sect. I
7) Capsized
8) September
9) The Fragment
10) Far Away From Nothing
11) Sect II
12) The Cataclysm Part 1
13) The Cataclysm Part 2
14) The Burial
15) Shimla
16) Reclamation
17) Sect III
18) The Great Ruins Of Man
19) Something Fell From The Sky

Added: June 10th 2007
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Vendlus Records
Hits: 2839
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by