Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Toxic Bonkers: Progress

From Poland comes Toxic Bonkers (I know, quite the bizarre name), a death metal/hardcore/grind band whose brand new album Progress on SelfMadeGod Records is a solid if unoriginal slice of metal brutality. 35 minutes as a matter of fact, which seems to be a growing trend among many extreme acts these days. Despite the brevity, Toxic Bonkers (sorry, just have to laugh again) deliver the goods, as Progress features no shortage of vicious vocal growls & shouts, sledgehammer rhythms, and bone-crunching guitar riffs. Tunes like "Emptiness", "Manifesto", and "Geophobia" pummel the listener with a relentless assault of violence and aggression, but after a few spins you begin to realize that too many of these songs sounds almost identical and are quite interchangeable with each other. Chances are if you are a fan of Napalm Death you'll dig Progress in some fashion, but quite frankly, despite the obvious groove and brutality here, we've all heard this type of stuff before, and better.

Track Listing
1) Emptiness
2) Evolution
3) Denial
4) Manifesto
5) Hole in the Head
6) Face the Fact
7) Progress
8) Anti-Violent
9) Geophobia
10) I Will Resisit

Added: June 10th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2463
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by