Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mayhem String Band: Rapscallions and Ne'erdowells

It's not often, actually pretty rare, that we come across or even consider reviewing something that crosses over into bluegrass territory. Rapscallions and Ne'erdowells by the Mayhem String Band is one such bluegrass release that probably deserves your attention if you dig the genre, or have a passing interest in Southern Rock, as these guys get down to some roots music that is well crafted and features plenty of smokin' playing. Fiddles, banjo, mandolin, and guitars weave all sorts of twangy melodies in each and every song, and coupled with some catchy melodies and real Southern drawl vocals, this release is as dripping with the deep South as you are going to get. The hottest track here is easily "Porterhorse Breakdown", an instrumental ripper featuring blazing acoustic guitar, fiddle, and banjo. As talented as these guys are, let's hear more tunes like this next time around…please.

Track Listing
1) Long Time Comin'
2) Nickels and Dimes
3) Life Ain't Worth Living
4) Hank
5) Humphrey's County Jail
6) Morning So Blue
7) Blowin' Skirt
8) Nothin' But Blue
9) Porterhorse Breakdown
10) Devil's Life
11) Extra Gold
12) John Henry

Added: June 10th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1940
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by